Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Unreliable corps; revealing an ambush
Page 2 sur 3 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Mike Bennett
Centurion


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 401
Localisation: 1) Tynemouth, Newcastle, UK. 2) Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia. 3) a ski station
MessagePosté le: Mar Aoû 16, 2022 9:53 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
fdunadan a écrit:
And since a corps become totally reliable if an ennemy unit come within 4 UD, the question has no problem... Rolling Eyes


So your view is:

In turn 1 the defender's potential unreliability is not yet established and is therefore irrelevant. He can deploy whenever any enemy move within 4ud of an ambush marker and this then makes them automatically reliable, no need to ever dice for it.
_________________
Mike
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4369
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Mer Aoû 17, 2022 7:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Pour révéler une embuscade, le corps doit être activé.
Pour activer un corps, il faut lancer le dé.
Donc on sait si l'allié est fiable avant de placer les unités en embuscade.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 293
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mer Aoû 17, 2022 7:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thanks for replying!

Does this correctly translate to:

To reveal an ambush, the body must be activated.
To activate a body, roll the die.
So we know if the ally is reliable before placing the units in ambush.

I assume the “before placing the units in ambush” above means “before placing the ambushing units on the table” not “when first writing down which units are in the ambush”, no?

Does this mean:
1. Attacker in his first turn (only) moves with 4 UD of Defender’s ambush marker which contains troops from an allied or unreliable command.
2. If the defender wishes to place these troops on the table he must roll a 2-6.

Some follow on questions:
1. Can the defender roll such a die for an empty ambush marker?
2. If the defender does this, can he also roll another die (trying for a modified 6 after spending 2CP/+1 if he wishes) on his first turn, or does the roll above count as his first turn’s CP roll?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Za Otlichiye
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 07 Sep 2021
Messages: 293
Localisation: Lovecraft country
MessagePosté le: Mer Aoû 17, 2022 8:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
There seems to be some confusion. Here is the sequence:

On the very first Attacker's move, some of their units end up within 4 UD of a Defender's ambush marker.

The Defender's units in Ambush are part of an Unreliable or Allied Corps.

If the Defender's units are deemed Hesitant, then the Defender cannot reveal them.
If not, then they may reveal and being within 4UD of the enemy, will become Reliable.

Since the Defender has not made the Corps first Activation Roll, their status is undetermined.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Centurion


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 401
Localisation: 1) Tynemouth, Newcastle, UK. 2) Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia. 3) a ski station
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 3:53 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
Pour révéler une embuscade, le corps doit être activé.
Pour activer un corps, il faut lancer le dé.
Donc on sait si l'allié est fiable avant de placer les unités en embuscade.


Hi Lionel

Sorry, i do not understand, as during the attacker's first turn the defenders ambush would be placed before the defender's corps was ever activated by a command dice roll.

An enemy coming within 4ud gives the option to voluntarily reveal an ambush in their turn, unless the ambushers are unreliable. If this is done by the attacker in the first turn then the defender will never have rolled a command dice, and it is allowed, since he is not then unreliable. The question is whether this is the intention, or an accident of phrasing.

Nb
If the defender can reveal this is really useful, as it might then be argued that he cannot be unreliable as there are enemy within 4ud (but see my initial follow on question)

If he cannot reveal it is very dangerous, as the attacker could arrange units nearby to massively constrain deployment options. Theoretically this could be limited to only one unit or two light foot directly on the marker.
_________________
Mike
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Légat


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 627
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 6:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
The ambush could be four heavy troops in a wood on flank sector next to cross table centre line.
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Centurion


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 401
Localisation: 1) Tynemouth, Newcastle, UK. 2) Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia. 3) a ski station
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 7:33 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Dickstick a écrit:
The ambush could be four heavy troops in a wood on flank sector next to cross table centre line.


Deployment can be blocked, depending on the direction of enemy approach, as it cannot be within 1UD of them
_________________
Mike
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Légat


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 627
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 7:55 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Agreed.
But this is about a question of is the ambush reliable or unreliable before being able to dice to know if unreliable.

For me they are reliable until someone can prove otherwise.
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4369
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 11:06 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
lionelrus a écrit:
Pour révéler une embuscade, le corps doit être activé.
Pour activer un corps, il faut lancer le dé.
Donc on sait si l'allié est fiable avant de placer les unités en embuscade.


Hi Lionel

Sorry, i do not understand, as during the attacker's first turn the defenders ambush would be placed before the defender's corps was ever activated by a command dice roll.

An enemy coming within 4ud gives the option to voluntarily reveal an ambush in their turn, unless the ambushers are unreliable. If this is done by the attacker in the first turn then the defender will never have rolled a command dice, and it is allowed, since he is not then unreliable. The question is whether this is the intention, or an accident of phrasing.

Nb
If the defender can reveal this is really useful, as it might then be argued that he cannot be unreliable as there are enemy within 4ud (but see my initial follow on question)

If he cannot reveal it is very dangerous, as the attacker could arrange units nearby to massively constrain deployment options. Theoretically this could be limited to only one unit or two light foot directly on the marker.



Nous discutons (inutilement, comme d'habitude) de savoir si un corps non fiable et en embuscade peut être rendu fiable par l'approche d'une unité ennemie
Au premier tour de l'attaquant, les marqueurs d'embuscade sont placés, mais pas les unités.

Donc :
1) Si l'ennemi s'approche à moins de 1UD, l'embuscade est révélée et le corps devient fiable dés le tour du défenseur.

2) Si l'ennemi est à plus de 4 UD, nous restons dans le cas général .

3) Si l'ennemi est à moins de 4UD et à plus de 1UD, alors l'embuscade n'est pas révélée et le corps ne devient pas fiable automatiquement, la fiabilité dépend du jet d'activation.
Au tour du défenseur, celui-ci doit activer son corps non fiable en lançant un dé. S'il obtient 1, le corps est non fiable. Il ne peut pas alors déployer les unités placées en embuscade, et donc rendre son corps fiable.
S'il obtient autre chose que 1, le corps est fiable. Il n'a donc pas besoin de révéler son embuscade pour le rendre fiable.
Il reste le cas particulier ( voir errata août 2022) des embuscades placées derrière une colline et dans une ravine. Si l'ennemi s'approche à moins de 4UD et à plus d'une UD, le corps redevient fiable et l'embuscade est révélée.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Centurion


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 401
Localisation: 1) Tynemouth, Newcastle, UK. 2) Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia. 3) a ski station
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 11:18 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
3) Si l'ennemi est à moins de 4UD et à plus de 1UD, alors l'embuscade n'est pas révélée et le corps ne devient pas fiable automatiquement, la fiabilité dépend du jet d'activation.


Clearly you are frustrated at what you see as pointless discussion. However this is not me trying to be an arse raising ridiculous questions for the sake of it.The rules give an unexpected result and I wanted to confirm that this is deliberate

In the english version at least even an unreliable ambusher can voluntarily deploy in turn 1 in the situation you quote when the attacker comes within 4ud, no need to wait for 1ud. See the initial post

"P2 (voluntarily revealing an ambush) only mentions corps already established a hesitant, unlike bp1 on moving and shooting which explicitly includes corps which have “not yet tested”
_________________
Mike
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4369
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 3:07 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
lionelrus a écrit:
3) Si l'ennemi est à moins de 4UD et à plus de 1UD, alors l'embuscade n'est pas révélée et le corps ne devient pas fiable automatiquement, la fiabilité dépend du jet d'activation.


Clearly you are frustrated at what you see as pointless discussion. However this is not me trying to be an arse raising ridiculous questions for the sake of it.The rules give an unexpected result and I wanted to confirm that this is deliberate

In the english version at least even an unreliable ambusher can voluntarily deploy in turn 1 in the situation you quote when the attacker comes within 4ud, no need to wait for 1ud. See the initial post

"P2 (voluntarily revealing an ambush) only mentions corps already established a hesitant, unlike bp1 on moving and shooting which explicitly includes corps which have “not yet tested”


P80 ENGLISH RULEBOOK HESITANT CORP "a hesitant corp cannot voluntary reveal its ambushes. It must wait until they are discovered by ennemy."
So, according with anothers points of rule:
1 you cannot do anything before corps activation
2 if you roll 1, your corp is hesitant and you can't revel a ambush.

What is unclear in that?
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Za Otlichiye
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 07 Sep 2021
Messages: 293
Localisation: Lovecraft country
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 3:09 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
This seems to me to be exactly the level of question that could be quickly answered by a functioning arbitration committee. It's not that important either way and if the author doesn't like the answer, well, there's always 2023 errata. Asking everyone to "roll a die" is kind of shabby. It doesn't promote the game.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4369
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 3:14 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Za Otlichiye a écrit:
This seems to me to be exactly the level of question that could be quickly answered by a functioning arbitration committee. It's not that important either way and if the author doesn't like the answer, well, there's always 2023 errata. Asking everyone to "roll a die" is kind of shabby. It doesn't promote the game.


Ce comité existe déjà et j'en suis un des responsables "règles".
Veuillez remarquer qu'à chaque fois que j'ai donné un avis sur ce forum, les erratas officiels m'ont donné raison.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Za Otlichiye
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 07 Sep 2021
Messages: 293
Localisation: Lovecraft country
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 4:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It would be helpful if there was a visible introduction to the DT - its purpose and its members.
I don't want to suggest the DT look at minor rules questions if they are supposed to be looking at deep gameplay design questions.
Anyway, this is getting off the subject of this thread.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Légat


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 626
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Jeu Aoû 18, 2022 4:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Za Otlichiye a écrit:
It would be helpful if there was a visible introduction to the DT - its purpose and its members.
I don't want to suggest the DT look at minor rules questions if they are supposed to be looking at deep gameplay design questions.
Anyway, this is getting off the subject of this thread.

The DT has been 'introduced'
http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8877
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 3 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum