Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Heavy Infantry movement
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 89
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 9:36 am    Sujet du message: Heavy Infantry movement Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

This question has raised its head a few times in recent competitions. (My usual disclaimer that I don't want to be seen 'sweating the small stuff etc.)

p29 Movement Allowance, last bullet point:

"Heavy infantry in open terrain may advance 3 UD instead of 2 UD if it starts its movement in the operational zone."

I have previously taken this to mean that HI have a movement allowance of 3UD if >=4UD from the enemy.

However, other players have said it is only a movement of 3UD if the unit 'advances'; i.e. if it uses all of the available UDs to move with no turns.

I think this comes down to the use of the word 'advance' on page 29.

The QRS states under 'Movement allowance':

"3 UD in open terrain if it starts its movement more than 4 UD from the enemy"

No mention of 'advance' (however, it does get the definition of 'operational zone' wrong).

I think the errata point on charge movement probably helps:

"Charge and Minimum Advance Distance (page 43)
If a unit performs a quarter or half turn before charging an evading enemy, this movement cost for turning is counted towards the minimum advance distance of 1 UD or 2 UD. Thus, a non-impetuous cavalry unit that performs a quarter turn and charges must still advance 1 UD after turning."

This uses the term 'advance' but allows the turn to count as part of the 'advance'.

Thoughts?

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 10:01 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Hi Guys,

This question has raised its head a few times in recent competitions. (My usual disclaimer that I don't want to be seen 'sweating the small stuff etc.)

p29 Movement Allowance, last bullet point:

"Heavy infantry in open terrain may advance 3 UD instead of 2 UD if it starts its movement in the operational zone."

I have previously taken this to mean that HI have a movement allowance of 3UD if <=4UD from the enemy.

However, other players have said it is only a movement of 3UD if the unit 'advances'; i.e. if it uses all of the available UDs to move with no turns.

I think this comes down to the use of the word 'advance' on page 29.

The QRS states under 'Movement allowance':

"3 UD in open terrain if it starts its movement more than 4 UD from the enemy"

No mention of 'advance' (however, it does get the definition of 'operational zone' wrong).

I think the errata point on charge movement probably helps:

"Charge and Minimum Advance Distance (page 43)
If a unit performs a quarter or half turn before charging an evading enemy, this movement cost for turning is counted towards the minimum advance distance of 1 UD or 2 UD. Thus, a non-impetuous cavalry unit that performs a quarter turn and charges must still advance 1 UD after turning."

This uses the term 'advance' but allows the turn to count as part of the 'advance'.

Thoughts?

Andy


I think you've been 'mugged' matey Shocked
It's up to you how you 'spend' your 4UDs - there's nothing in the rules that states it must be an advance forwards or in a straight-line or without a turn.

The Operational Zone is within 4UDs of any enemy, so if your HF are 6UDs away from that enemy you can advance your 3UDs into the Operational Zone (but that cannot be the case if its a 2nd or 3rd move when it must stop 4UDs from the enemy) and end up 3UDs from the enemy (as I understand it).

Likewise, if your HF are on a road they get an additional +1UD for moving on the road, in addition to moving at 3UD outside of the Operational Zone.
You can turn (deducting 1UD if not unmanouverable) and them move 2UDs (as long as you are outside the Operational Zone).

Just my 3pence worth Laughing
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 11:16 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Agreed Mark. Basically how you manoeuvre is up to you. Providing the HI start in clear terrain outside 4UD from enemy, they can move 3UD.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 725
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 11:18 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Also impetuous troops will have to use the 3 UD and not use the 2 UD instead. It's not optional for impetuous.
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1671
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 2:55 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


I have previously taken this to mean that HI have a movement allowance of 3UD if >=4UD from the enemy.



If they start their move there, then you are correct.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 668
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 6:36 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Dickstick a écrit:
Also impetuous troops will have to use the 3 UD and not use the 2 UD instead. It's not optional for impetuous.


This is really nasty for groups of impetuous HI, as those within 4 UD on an enemy (say LC/LI) move only 2 UD while those further away move 3 UD. Since they an unmaneuverable this costs the whole group an extra CP to move.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Sep 23, 2024 9:46 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Dickstick a écrit:
Also impetuous troops will have to use the 3 UD and not use the 2 UD instead. It's not optional for impetuous.


This is really nasty for groups of impetuous HI, as those within 4 UD on an enemy (say LC/LI) move only 2 UD while those further away move 3 UD. Since they an unmaneuverable this costs the whole group an extra CP to move.


You are overcomplicating things Kevin Smile

A movement group moves at the speed of the slowest unit within it - just as a mixed formation of HF and MF (within the operational zone) will move at 2UD - the speed of the HF.
So no 'unmanouverable' penalty applies.

If you choose to move the impetuous HF that are outside 4UD of the enemy separately at 3UDs (for an extra PIP) that's up to you.

Cheers
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 381
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 12:08 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Sorry Mark, I dont think you are correct. I suspect you of "under-complicating" things. Smile

It is true that a mixed group moves at the speed of the slowest unit but that is because it cannot move any faster and still be a group.

This does not mean that each UNIT in the group has moved its full movement distance. And those units will be penalized.

So in your example, a mixed group of HF and MF inside the operational zone will indeed only move 2UD. The HF cannot move faster. But as the MF have not moved their full distance it will cost 2 CP to do this.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 9:29 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
Sorry Mark, I dont think you are correct. I suspect you of "under-complicating" things. Smile

It is true that a mixed group moves at the speed of the slowest unit but that is because it cannot move any faster and still be a group.

This does not mean that each UNIT in the group has moved its full movement distance. And those units will be penalized.

So in your example, a mixed group of HF and MF inside the operational zone will indeed only move 2UD. The HF cannot move faster. But as the MF have not moved their full distance it will cost 2 CP to do this.


I think we might need to disagree on that one Steve Very Happy
Movement page 29, General Rules - 4th bullet point clearly states: "A group of units moves at the speed of the slowest unit"

So, if the rules state that the formation/group must move at the rate of the slowest unit, then imposing a penalty on that same group for not moving at the fastest rate seems both highly illogical and 'unfair' (we dont impose such a penalty when a unit is slowed by terrain for example). But maybe we can get a ruling on that? So in effect - are we saying that moving at 4UDs outside of the operational zone is now classified as the units 'full move' rather than an option (like the road bonus)?

TBF - I had always thought that using the extra 1UD of movement outside the Operational Zone was optional - even for impetuous foot - before Dickstick raised it earlier in this thread - as it also states on page 29 in Movement allowance - 5th bullet point " Heavy infantry in open terrain may advance 3UD instead of 2UD if it starts its movement in the operational zone. (NB: should read outside the operational zone).

But as always - I am happy to be enlightened or told I've got things wrong Very Happy

Cheers
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1626
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 12:45 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
[quote="Mark G Fry"]
SteveR a écrit:

Movement page 29, General Rules - 4th bullet point clearly states: "A group of units moves at the speed of the slowest unit"


...and the rest of that same bullet point continues with ...

".. However, during a wheel, each unit of the group can move up to the maximum of its move distance as long as all units remain in the group until the end of the wheel"

So, there are times when some units in a group can exceed the movement distance/allowance of the slowest unit - but none can ever exceed their own allowance.

and p34 Difficult manoeuvers adds that a Difficult Manoeuvre includes...

"An advance of less than the unit's full movement allowance .."

..which is also clear that its the units allowance that counts for Difficult purposes.


So, if we had any extreme pedants on this forum Rolling Eyes they might argue that the wording on p29 should be something like "Units moving as part of a group cannot exceed their normal movement allowance" - but for all of the rest of us we're all good thankyou
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 381
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 8:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hi Mark,

I think the line about a group moving at the rate of the slowest unit is unfortunate. It does not add anything of value, because it does not mean that all units in a group have their maximum move allowance reduced to that of the slowest. I am not pleased that we disagree on this, but will take solace in predicting most umpires will take a position consistent with what I am suggesting.

Attaching a war wagon to a line of impetuous medium swordsmen does not reduce their maximum allowance. Although it may reduce how far the group moves if they stay a group.

The lack of discretion on Heavy Infantry in the operational zone movement allowance was litigated previously as well IIRC

Anyway - all the best.

(and page 29 is correct - the zones are Tactical and Operational. Operational is greater than or equal to 4 UD so it reads right)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 9:07 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hi Steve
Thoughts & comment - inline in bold (I am not shouting) and below.

SteveR a écrit:
Hi Mark,
I think the line about a group moving at the rate of the slowest unit is unfortunate. It does not add anything of value, because it does not mean that all units in a group have their maximum move allowance reduced to that of the slowest.
> I'm not sure what it means then Steve, if it doesn't mean just that? Smile

I am not pleased that we disagree on this (me neither) but will take solace in predicting most umpires will take a position consistent with what I am suggesting.

Attaching a war wagon to a line of impetuous medium swordsmen does not reduce their maximum allowance. Although it may reduce how far the group moves if they stay a group.
The lack of discretion on Heavy Infantry in the operational zone movement allowance was litigated previously as well IIRC
> I must have missed that one - but I'll do a search - thankyou for bring it to my attention.

Anyway - all the best.
(and page 29 is correct - the zones are Tactical and Operational. Operational is greater than or equal to 4 UD so it reads right)


I agree with you on the above Steve - IMHO it's about the unforeseen consequences of altering a single rule (from v.3 to v.4) that allows the HF to move at 3UD in the Operational Zone (& you are of course right about Tactical & Operational zones) without due regard or consideration to the impact it has on its implementation.
I'm really not quite sure I understand how the whole 'movement as a group' actually works, as there are no fixed formations in ADLG anyway. So it might well be either a translation issue or a line of irrelevant text
Cheers
Mark Smile
NB: I've had a look back in the forum and cannot find the thread discussing that impetuous HF must move their full 4UD (or be penalised) in the Operational Zone - maybe somebody else knows where it is please? Thanks
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 9:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hi Tim
I'm not quite sure I understand your point above in the context of Kevin's observation? But I'm probably just being dim.

As you indirectly point out, we already have a situation, that the rules legislate for, that allows units in a line of wheeling impetuous HF to move less than 2UDs (or 3UDs outside the Tactical Zone). In fact some units in the wheeling line can remain almost stationary in such a situation.

However, where this question becomes an issue is if you have 2 ranks of impetuous HF where the front rank is within the Tactical Zone and the rear rank is within the Operational Zone. To move the whole two rank group, it appears that a player must expend 2CPs. As the front rank can only move 2UDs and the rear must move 3UDs, but cannot interpenetrate the front rank, so by default can only move 2UDs. The alternative is to only move the front rank and leave the rear behind, if we apply the logic of Steve R's interpretation of a group move. Although this is exactly the circumstance where such a statement around units in a group moving at the speed of the slowest comes naturally into play.

I would also agree that this is probably another one of those - 'angels on a pin-head/once in a blue-moon' sort of scenarios though Laughing
Cheers
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 381
MessagePosté le: Mar Sep 24, 2024 11:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hi Mark,

I am in no way suspecting you of shouting - all old friends here

Here is the discussion - http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8988 Even includes a citiation of the utterances of El Kreator

It's true that in the rules we have some things included because they are needed in other languages, some things that are redundant and some that are ambiguous and inconsistent but sort of clarified. You really cannot hang your hat on the English nuanced meaning of any one word.

From a macro perspective, let me suggest impetuous troops are fairly costed as played and don't need any help. Like Kevin said (starting this bun fight) a nice tactic to use is to make sure some of a group are within 4 UD of a LH or LI and some are not. Kind of makes up for the wheel/counterwheel tactic used by impetuous troops to advance less than a full move.... Serves them right
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 588
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Sep 25, 2024 8:41 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
Hi Mark,

I am in no way suspecting you of shouting - all old friends here

Here is the discussion - http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8988 Even includes a citiation of the utterances of El Kreator

It's true that in the rules we have some things included because they are needed in other languages, some things that are redundant and some that are ambiguous and inconsistent but sort of clarified. You really cannot hang your hat on the English nuanced meaning of any one word.

From a macro perspective, let me suggest impetuous troops are fairly costed as played and don't need any help. Like Kevin said (starting this bun fight) a nice tactic to use is to make sure some of a group are within 4 UD of a LH or LI and some are not. Kind of makes up for the wheel/counterwheel tactic used by impetuous troops to advance less than a full move.... Serves them right


Thanks Steve Very Happy
I'll check out that thread and add it to my errata pages.

I suppose I am getting 'hooked up' on that phrase on Page 29 "A group moves at the speed of the slowest unit." and saw that as a way of resolving the issue that Kevin describes in a straightforward manner. I had not seen the 'sneaky tricky' way of using such a statement to control/limit the movement rate of impetuous troops (the inclusion of WWG amongst MF impetuous or HF outside the Tactical Zone).

So ... my 2 rank deep block of HF, half in and half out of the Tactical Zone will require 2CP to be moved, however we choose to do it. And the wording on page 29 does apply to 'ordinary' HF & MF moving together using 1CP and the MF must move at the speed of the HF - which of course makes logical sense - but not to the half-in & half-out ranked impetuous HF specifically. Got it.

I do agree, wholeheartedly. that impetuous troops are costed appropriately and was not lobbying for a change there.

Cheers
Mark
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum