Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Temporary overlapping enemies
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
pichuleante
Frondeur


Inscrit le: 25 Fév 2016
Messages: 8
MessagePosté le: Sam Mai 03, 2025 11:52 am    Sujet du message: Temporary overlapping enemies Répondre en citant


In the situation of the image, can the knight charge the tupi on the left even if the pivot needed superpose temporary on the other tupi? This question is asked to avoid arguing during games. Sorry if some consider it obvious.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4818
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Sam Mai 03, 2025 3:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
He can
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ackostokie
Javelinier


Inscrit le: 22 Jan 2015
Messages: 16
MessagePosté le: Dim Mai 04, 2025 9:42 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I'm interested why the answer is yes

The rules state you can overlap a friendly unit, providing you do not need to finish the move on the unit pg31. So as long as the knights in the diagram do not touch the enemy unit when wheeling, they can charge

However, the doubt is, can they pass through a friendly unit that is in combat when wheeling.

Page 39 the interpenetration is not possible if the unit that needs to be passed through is in close combat or giving support.

So does temporary overlapping a friendly unit when wheeling class as interpenetration?

Thanks
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 313
MessagePosté le: Dim Mai 04, 2025 2:35 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
There is some suggestion here: https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10428&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0 that this is being considered, but till it is added to the errata or published by the rule committee, you are on your own.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Dim Mai 04, 2025 6:04 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think the rule ought to be that only the front edge of the moving unit matters during the move, provided the entire unit will fit after the move and that no part of the moving unit was ZOCed prior to moving by a different enemy (remembering that only the MTE actually exerts a ZOC).

This thing about rear outside corners becoming entangled by other units, ZOCs or terrain during a wheel, when the front edge is not, is silly. Real units wheeling 45 degrees wheeled with rear ranks wheeling in turn as they passed the point the front ranks started their wheel (or some approximation thereto for less drilled troops), not by having rear ranks racing off at an oblique angle 90 degrees away from the direction of the front rank’s travel.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 88
MessagePosté le: Mer Mai 07, 2025 12:03 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
pichuleante a écrit:


In the situation of the image, can the knight charge the tupi on the left even if the pivot needed superpose temporary on the other tupi? This question is asked to avoid arguing during games. Sorry if some consider it obvious.


You can temporarily overlap friendly units in order to wheel as long as the units do not end their movement overlapped. This is not interpenetration so none of those rules apply.

You cannot overlap enemy units to carry out a wheel.

In practice this means that any wheel in your example would not be possible.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum