Auteur |
Message |
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 103
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 8:39 pm Sujet du message: Move to support |
|
Hi Guys,
I have a unit in melee and I have another unit positioned less than 1 UD away on the flank of the enemy that I am in melee with.
1. Is the movement to melee support free or does it cost 1 CP?
I believe it costs 1 CP as it is not a charge and therefore not a 'spontaneous charge'.
After the new unit hits the enemy in the flank my original unit in melee disengages.
2. My unit which was in melee support is now in melee. Does it count the 'First round of melee' abilities (impact, javelin, furious charge etc.)?
p63 First round of a melee
These abilities are only effective during the first round of a melee if the unit charges or is charged by an enemy on its front edge. If the combat takes place after a conformation of an existing contact or after a pursuit, these special abilities do not apply.
The unit did not charge so do the first round of melee abilities apply? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
KevinD
Tribun
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 700
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:06 pm Sujet du message: |
|
1. Free. P 44
“When a unit is very close to the enemy it can decide to charge OR CONTACT the enemy without any orders. In this case it is a spontaneous charge.
* A spontaneous charge is possible when a unit has an enemy in its zone of control.â€
Note that a spontaneous charge is defined as a charge or contact.
2. I think it does not counts as a charge. P 42, 6th bullet “Contacting an enemy already in melee to support a friendly unit is not a charge but a movement.†If you want to count as a charge you must disengage first. If you look only at P 63 it’s unclear but P 42 makes clear it doesn’t count as a charge.
Thus, some “Spontaneous charges†are charges and others are simply contacts. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 103
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:17 pm Sujet du message: |
|
KevinD a écrit: | 1. Free. P 44
“When a unit is very close to the enemy it can decide to charge OR CONTACT the enemy without any orders. In this case it is a spontaneous charge.
* A spontaneous charge is possible when a unit has an enemy in its zone of control.â€
Note that a spontaneous charge is defined as a charge or contact.
2. I think it does not counts as a charge. P 42, 6th bullet “Contacting an enemy already in melee to support a friendly unit is not a charge but a movement.†If you want to count as a charge you must disengage first. If you look only at P 63 it’s unclear but P 42 makes clear it doesn’t count as a charge.
Thus, some “Spontaneous charges†are charges and others are simply contacts. |
Thanks Kevin. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 397
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:23 pm Sujet du message: |
|
So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.
Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.
The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:44 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Have to agree with Steve. It is not a charge at the time of contact, and it's clear from p. 63 that that is necessary.
(Yet another reason to keep things formal.-) |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 10:27 pm Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.
Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.
The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are. |
Steve. The timing of the movement of the different units is key.
As originally described, the first unit has charged starting the melee. The second unit moves into support in a subsequent turn; by definition this movement is not a charge. The first unit then disengages, but since the second unit is already in contact, the melee continues.Â
However, if the first unit disengages first, this ends the melee. Moving the second unit into contact would now be considered to be a charge (with all associated benefits). Note, if this sequence of moves takes place, the target gains the potential option to evade. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 397
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 11:21 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | SteveR a écrit: | So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.
Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.
The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are. |
Steve. The timing of the movement of the different units is key.
As originally described, the first unit has charged starting the melee. The second unit moves into support in a subsequent turn; by definition this movement is not a charge. The first unit then disengages, but since the second unit is already in contact, the melee continues.Â
However, if the first unit disengages first, this ends the melee. Moving the second unit into contact would now be considered to be a charge (with all associated benefits). Note, if this sequence of moves takes place, the target gains the potential option to evade. |
My friend you are arguing with the wrong man. I agree with you, but am just reporting what Herve told me. And also making it clear that he was not speaking ex cathedra at the time.
Logically I would think it would not count as a first round charge but logic has led me astray in interpreting these rules more than once. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Lun Aoû 04, 2025 12:20 am Sujet du message: |
|
No problem Steve.Â
I was presenting an alternative scenario which would fit Hervé’s ruling. It is just possible that there was a misunderstanding somewhere.Â
  |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|