Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Move to support
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 103
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 8:39 pm    Sujet du message: Move to support Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

I have a unit in melee and I have another unit positioned less than 1 UD away on the flank of the enemy that I am in melee with.

1. Is the movement to melee support free or does it cost 1 CP?

I believe it costs 1 CP as it is not a charge and therefore not a 'spontaneous charge'.

After the new unit hits the enemy in the flank my original unit in melee disengages.

2. My unit which was in melee support is now in melee. Does it count the 'First round of melee' abilities (impact, javelin, furious charge etc.)?

p63 First round of a melee
These abilities are only effective during the first round of a melee if the unit charges or is charged by an enemy on its front edge. If the combat takes place after a conformation of an existing contact or after a pursuit, these special abilities do not apply.

The unit did not charge so do the first round of melee abilities apply?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 700
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:06 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
1. Free. P 44

“When a unit is very close to the enemy it can decide to charge OR CONTACT the enemy without any orders. In this case it is a spontaneous charge.

* A spontaneous charge is possible when a unit has an enemy in its zone of control.â€

Note that a spontaneous charge is defined as a charge or contact.

2. I think it does not counts as a charge. P 42, 6th bullet “Contacting an enemy already in melee to support a friendly unit is not a charge but a movement.†If you want to count as a charge you must disengage first. If you look only at P 63 it’s unclear but P 42 makes clear it doesn’t count as a charge.

Thus, some “Spontaneous charges†are charges and others are simply contacts.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 103
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
1. Free. P 44

“When a unit is very close to the enemy it can decide to charge OR CONTACT the enemy without any orders. In this case it is a spontaneous charge.

* A spontaneous charge is possible when a unit has an enemy in its zone of control.â€

Note that a spontaneous charge is defined as a charge or contact.

2. I think it does not counts as a charge. P 42, 6th bullet “Contacting an enemy already in melee to support a friendly unit is not a charge but a movement.†If you want to count as a charge you must disengage first. If you look only at P 63 it’s unclear but P 42 makes clear it doesn’t count as a charge.

Thus, some “Spontaneous charges†are charges and others are simply contacts.


Thanks Kevin.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 397
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.

Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.

The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 352
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 9:44 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Have to agree with Steve. It is not a charge at the time of contact, and it's clear from p. 63 that that is necessary.
(Yet another reason to keep things formal.-)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 10:27 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.

Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.

The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are.


Steve. The timing of the movement of the different units is key.

As originally described, the first unit has charged starting the melee. The second unit moves into support in a subsequent turn; by definition this movement is not a charge. The first unit then disengages, but since the second unit is already in contact, the melee continues. 

However, if the first unit disengages first, this ends the melee. Moving the second unit into contact would now be considered to be a charge (with all associated benefits). Note, if this sequence of moves takes place, the target gains the potential option to evade. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 397
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 11:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
SteveR a écrit:
So don't think of this as definitive, but Dan H and I asked Herve question #2 several years ago in Lisbon and his answer was that it did count as a charge with the usual first round factors taking effect.

Personally, I disagreed with him and thought he got the rule wrong for the reasons you cite but I was too polite to mention it.

The real answer may have changed since then, and he was speaking off the cuff but there you are.


Steve. The timing of the movement of the different units is key.

As originally described, the first unit has charged starting the melee. The second unit moves into support in a subsequent turn; by definition this movement is not a charge. The first unit then disengages, but since the second unit is already in contact, the melee continues. 

However, if the first unit disengages first, this ends the melee. Moving the second unit into contact would now be considered to be a charge (with all associated benefits). Note, if this sequence of moves takes place, the target gains the potential option to evade. 


My friend you are arguing with the wrong man. I agree with you, but am just reporting what Herve told me. And also making it clear that he was not speaking ex cathedra at the time.

Logically I would think it would not count as a first round charge but logic has led me astray in interpreting these rules more than once.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Lun Aoû 04, 2025 12:20 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
No problem Steve. 
I was presenting an alternative scenario which would fit Hervé’s ruling. It is just possible that there was a misunderstanding somewhere. 

 Very Happy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum