Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Interpenetration and supporting question
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
SteveR
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 402
MessagePosté le: Sam Déc 13, 2025 10:49 pm    Sujet du message: Interpenetration and supporting question Répondre en citant
There are four units involved here. 1, 2 and 3 are all on the same side facing down.

A is in melee with 1 and facing up


12
A3


it is now the player with the numbers turn. Both 2 and 3 meet the criteria for simple support per page 60 and so the owning player may choose which is the one in support. Clear enough.

Unit 3 is a LI and unit 2 is not. So the player, reasonably, would like to charge with unit 2 against a different enemy leaving the LI in support.

But a unit in support may not be interpenetrated. It seems a bit cute to me for the player to declare unit 2 to be the supporter (for now) charge through and then leave only unit 3 in position to support.

But is it allowed?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 387
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 14, 2025 1:20 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Last time this was discussed, there seemed to be a consensus that this was allowed in V3 and would still be allowed.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 724
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Dim Déc 14, 2025 1:27 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I suspect this is not permitted.

I think that you may not declare a unit to be “not in support†and thus move through it. If it is in position to provide support (regardless of what it will actually do in the melee phase) you may not interpenetrate it.

Note that a similar thing could happen with melee support. Suppose 3 was flanking A. I don’t think you can now say well 2 is in support so 3 can now move and operate is if it is not in support (think disengage rules - there are some very nasty multiple attack moves that could be made involving slipping behind to get a rear attack or vacating the location to allow another enemy (4 for example) to hit the enemy in the flank and cause another cohesion hit.

Even if the above does not prohibit this the rules (p 60, 3rd bullet under “Additional pointsâ€) says you can change which unit counts as support in each sequence of play, not multiple times per per sequence (which is defined on p 23 as composing all of one player’s movement, shooting, combat and rout phases).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 387
MessagePosté le: Mar Déc 16, 2025 4:32 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I believe the argument is not that 3 is not in support, but rather that 2 is, and because it is not necessary for it to stay there, it may move on. Then 3 is in support position and so in support.
I don't particularly like it, but I doubt we will ever get an answer.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 612
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Déc 16, 2025 8:04 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
I believe the argument is not that 3 is not in support, but rather that 2 is, and because it is not necessary for it to stay there, it may move on. Then 3 is in support position and so in support.
I don't particularly like it, but I doubt we will ever get an answer.


Could it be argued that both are in support, but that there is a maximum of one bonus support factor which can come from either of them, but not both.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum