Auteur |
Message |
chris6
Vétéran
Inscrit le: 02 Déc 2013 Messages: 198
|
Posté le: Sam Mai 14, 2016 3:05 pm Sujet du message: ZOC Question |
|
Two Units face each other but there ZOC only overlaps about 1 cm. They are 1 cm away from each other. Now a 3rd Unit appears in support but do not align. So the situation is as follows: Same as before but there is an additional unit with a ZOC overlap of 3cm but 2 cm away.
What happens if I charge now? Just straight ahaead I will get in touch with the unit with only 1 cm ZOC in front of me and conforming to this unit leaving the more threatening unit (3cm) in front of me uncharged?
Hope you understand what i mean, it seems so obvious that I can just charge ahead and conform to the closer unit, but....somehow I am unsure. _________________ Wohnort Limburg 30 Km nördlich von Frankfurt
Living at Limburg 30 Km north of Frankfurt
lieu de résidence Limburg 30 Km nord de Frankfurt |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Wagmestre
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 27 Juil 2010 Messages: 1236
Localisation: Ballainviliers (France)
|
Posté le: Dim Mai 15, 2016 10:36 am Sujet du message: Re: ZOC Question |
|
chris6 a écrit: |
What happens if I charge now? Just straight ahaead I will get in touch with the unit with only 1 cm ZOC in front of me and conforming to this unit leaving the more threatening unit (3cm) in front of me uncharged ? |
Yes, your lonely unit charge straight in front of it, contact the closer ennemy, regardless the 1cm / 3 cm ZOC.
The main front is used only for the conformation, not for the charge. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
chris6
Vétéran
Inscrit le: 02 Déc 2013 Messages: 198
|
Posté le: Dim Mai 15, 2016 3:21 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ok, so that means I get in contact with the unit closer to mine even though I have only 1cm of the ZOC and can conform to this unit. The unit more far away I will not get in contact even though I was more in the ZOC of these unit. _________________ Wohnort Limburg 30 Km nördlich von Frankfurt
Living at Limburg 30 Km north of Frankfurt
lieu de résidence Limburg 30 Km nord de Frankfurt |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 3:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Back up a moment.
1) Which unit is defined as "the most threatening enemy" page 34?
2) Can that unit be contacted by a move? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Wagmestre
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 27 Juil 2010 Messages: 1236
Localisation: Ballainviliers (France)
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 5:19 pm Sujet du message: |
|
If I had well understood : both ennemies are in front of the lonely charging unit, and the closer zoc with 1cm, when the farer zoc with 3 cm ?
When in a zoc, you can't slide.
So, your unit charge forward, and contact the closer ennemy, even if it's the 1cm zoc.
When in contact, the unit conformes regardless the other zocs. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 5:53 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Agreed, that was my also understanding of the position. For clarification I thought the position looked like this
. . . . XXXX
2cm
. . . . . . . . . .YYYY
1cm
. . . . . . .AAAA
And I agree with the answer provided; Unit A must charge the closer enemy Y, even though distant enemy X has a greater frontage, because A and Y mutually ZoC each other. Once in contact, A will conform onto Y moving out of the ZoC of X |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Commodore
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2012 Messages: 1249
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 7:40 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | Agreed, that was my also understanding of the position. For clarification I thought the position looked like this
. . . . XXXX
2cm
. . . . . . . . . .YYYY
1cm
. . . . . . .AAAA
And I agree with the answer provided; Unit A must charge the closer enemy Y, even though distant enemy X has a greater frontage, because A and Y mutually ZoC each other. Once in contact, A will conform onto Y moving out of the ZoC of X |
To completly answer your question: the XXX remain the most threatening ennemy and any A unit move must be donein accordance with ZOC rules. Y ZOC is so ignored. But as soon as A move forward, the first contact is made with Y ( page 40 charge move, para4) this is a legal contact and A conform to Y _________________ "Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead"
Cdr Farragut,Mobile 1864 |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
chris6
Vétéran
Inscrit le: 02 Déc 2013 Messages: 198
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 7:49 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Many thx for the clearing! The example in the post from Ramses II is what I meant. And the solution is how I told my group it has to be played, but reading about "most threatening unit" and moving in ZOC I was getting a little unsure afterwards.
THX again for discussing this for me! _________________ Wohnort Limburg 30 Km nördlich von Frankfurt
Living at Limburg 30 Km north of Frankfurt
lieu de résidence Limburg 30 Km nord de Frankfurt |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Lun Mai 16, 2016 10:04 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Commodore a écrit: |
To completly answer your question: the XXX remain the most threatening ennemy and any A unit move must be donein accordance with ZOC rules. Y ZOC is so ignored. But as soon as A move forward, the first contact is made with Y ( page 40 charge move, para4) this is a legal contact and A conform to Y |
Page 40 involves a unit in the way after the target has evaded. In the example you used, the charger could slide and then contact "the most threatening enemy".
Why is this not either a player choice or a requirement of the ZOC rules? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mar Mai 17, 2016 1:04 am Sujet du message: |
|
Hmm.
Hazelbark, the unit cannot slide. However, I think you are suggesting that if the unit has sufficient movement, it could choose to turn (left in the diagram) and then wheel past the nearer enemy, moving closer or into contact with the most threatening (further) enemy.
(Note, the unit would make the same movement if "Y" were terrain rather than a unit)
If so, I believe that you are correct that the player is complying with the rules on movement in enemy ZoC by increasing the alignment of the unit with the most threatening enemy.
That said, I also think Commodore is right in saying that the unit must move relative to the greatest threat, but in doing so it may contact a different enemy in a legitimate way, at which point it ceases to charge the first unit and must instead conform on this other unit.
Either way, the ZoC rules do control what happens here and also limit player choice; a heavy infantry unit would not be able to do this convoluted manoeuvre because it does not have sufficient movement capacity. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 18, 2016 2:05 am Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: |
Hazelbark, the unit cannot slide.
|
correct my error.
Citation: | However, I think you are suggesting that if the unit has sufficient movement, it could choose to turn (left in the diagram) and then wheel past the nearer enemy, moving closer or into contact with the most threatening (further) enemy.
(Note, the unit would make the same movement if "Y" were terrain rather than a unit)
|
I think if this move was possible it would likely be required. There are some geometric situations that it may be required. For example if Y was angled sharply. I think it may be worth getting this ruled on. Meaning if you have two paths MUST you choose the path to contact the most threatening, or MAY you choose the path that contacts some other unit. I think MUST, is the cleaner option.
Citation: | That said, I also think Commodore is right in saying that the unit must move relative to the greatest threat, but in doing so it may contact a different enemy in a legitimate way, at which point it ceases to charge the first unit and must instead conform on this other unit.
|
By "greatest threat" you both mean "most threatening". Yes I can see that. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Commodore
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2012 Messages: 1249
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 18, 2016 5:11 am Sujet du message: |
|
Hazelbark a écrit: | Ramses II a écrit: |
Hazelbark, the unit cannot slide.
|
By "greatest threat" you both mean "most threatening". Yes I can see that. |
You're right, i still have some work to do with my english. It will be better next year... _________________ "Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead"
Cdr Farragut,Mobile 1864 |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 18, 2016 3:13 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hazelbark a écrit: | Ramses II a écrit: |
Hazelbark, the unit cannot slide.
|
correct my error. |
P28 Slide:- "It can only be performed by advancing forwards at least 1UD".
Which is why p34 Movements allowed in a ZoC, 2nd bullet, does not include 'slide' in the list of permitted movements.
Note, when the specific direction of the charge is declared, I assume this defines the intended manoeuvres rather than merely the (compass) 'direction' or angle. If so, specifying these details must exclude any 'slide'. So Presumably the unit must continue under this constraint even if both enemy units evade.
(I would like this confirmed by the rules team or 'El Creator'.)
I also agree that we need confirmation from the team on whether the charging unit is permitted to make the rather convoluted manoeuvres necessary to avoid the nearer unit; does turning sideways then wheeling forwards still count as 'aligning' with the most threatening enemy?
(Presumably these manoeuvres are permitted to avoid intervening terrain so should also be valid here, though where 'X' and 'A' are already aligned or nearly so, i suspect that this would be considered illegal because the frontage contacted on 'X' would be reduced from what it was originally).
XXXX
. YYYYY
AAAA |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 18, 2016 5:15 pm Sujet du message: |
|
HA.
I meant "you are correct. It was my error."
I was being very brief, apologies. We are in agreement on the rule that you cannot slide in a ZOC. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 18, 2016 6:27 pm Sujet du message: |
|
LOL. Your brevity included dropping the relevant comma.
However, answering and amplifying the question gave me another thought. Consider the following diagram:-
. . . . . ¦
. . . XXXX
. . . . . ¦
. . . . . ======
. . . . AAAA
Here, units 'X' and 'A' are almost aligned and within each other's ZoC, but 'X' is in partly terrain that penalises A in melee.
Can 'A' turn and wheel forwards into contact with 'X' even though doing this reduces its alignment, thus?
The point being that Conforming specifically permits this contact, but does not detail the movement up to the contact.
. . . . . ¦
. . . XXXX
AAAA. ¦
. . . . . =====
. . . . . . . .
Note, after turning and wheeling (but before it advances forwards), 'A' occupies a position that is exactly adjacent to its original location. So this manoeuver would not contact the enemy where the units are totally aligned before moving, as wheeling more than 90 degrees is prohibited. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|