Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
LI blocking flank attack
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 758
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:32 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:
[quote="]
So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !


You could start your charge with a 90 turn, which contacts the LI and forces it to flee, and then conform onto the flank (assuming if it is an unmaneuverable unit it had the required extra CP).


In this case a 90 degree turn would miss the LI. Contact is only from a conform.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:35 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
AlanCutner a écrit:

“So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !â€
I don't think so. I have no issue with unit C being unable to wheel because it would overlap an enemy unit. The questions are
1. If unit C turns 90 degrees to make contact with a side edge, is that a charge causing the LI to flee, creating room for a conform.
2. If the answer to 1 is 'no', then does the LI have to move away (evade?) if contacted by an enemy unit conforming.

(And in another reply)

In this case a 90 degree turn would miss the LI. Contact is only from a conform..


It’s technically not a conformation since it starts in a position to provide support to friends, so this attack on the flank is either a move or charge…


Dernière édition par KevinD le Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:37 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1622
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:36 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
AlanCutner a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:
AlanCutner a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
This is effectively the same as if unit B were not there (eg an attack on the end of a line) 

Not quite. If unit B wasn't there then unit C could wheel in a charge, forcing the LI to evade before hitting flank of unit A.


So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !

I don't think so. I have no issue with unit C being unable to wheel because it would overlap an enemy unit. The questions are
1. If unit C turns 90 degrees to make contact with a side edge, is that a charge causing the LI to flee, creating room for a conform.
2. If the answer to 1 is 'no', then does the LI have to move away (evade?) if contacted by an enemy unit conforming.


- The initial 90 degree turn doesn't intersect with the LI.
- It's the conformation that bumps into the LI
- The conformation rules are very clear that enemy troops can't be bumped during conformation. There is no carve-out in this rule for LI.
- The "LI must evade" rule is for troops contacted by a charge
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Longtooth
Signifer


Inscrit le: 14 Oct 2014
Messages: 358
Localisation: Oxford
MessagePosté le: Ven Mai 30, 2025 7:32 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Although it feels a bit wrong for the LF to block a confirmation, I would argue that this is what the rules say. I would follow the bullet point list on Incomplete Conformation (page 53). In this case, the conforming unit is unable to conform to the side, so should conform to the front.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 313
MessagePosté le: Ven Mai 30, 2025 9:56 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
QUESTION: Page 42 makes it plain that corner to corner contact without the possibility of partial conformance (i.e. corner to edge or vice versa) is insufficient as a charge into melee. But is it therefore forbidden? Or could you move into corner to corner contact and thereby force the opponent to conform or move away in their turn?

(This arises from the variation of the OP's example where the front left corner of Unit D is not in the gap, but coincident with the rear right corner of Unit B. Thus allowing only corner to corner contact should Unit C advance.)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum