Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
LI blocking flank attack
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 756
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Lun Mai 26, 2025 6:32 pm    Sujet du message: LI blocking flank attack Répondre en citant
Follow up query from tournament game at weekend.


Friendly unit C is between two enemy units A and B, and advanced about 1/2 UD past their front edges (not shown are current frontal melee opponents of A and B). On its next turn unit C would be able to turn on the flank of either A or B. However enemy LI D is moved to the position shown.

Unit C cannot wheel to charge as insufficient room. If it turn 90 degrees it doesn't have room to conform to either enemy flank edge due to the presence of LI D.

Do the LI move away because contacted by an enemy unit doing a conform?

If not are the only options
1. Charge the LI and have to pursue at least 1UD (2UD if unit C was mounted), or
2. Turn 90 degrees and do a partial conform that doesn't count as a flank charge, or
3. Stay in place
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 87
MessagePosté le: Lun Mai 26, 2025 10:29 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
AlanCutner a écrit:
Follow up query from tournament game at weekend.


Friendly unit C is between two enemy units A and B, and advanced about 1/2 UD past their front edges (not shown are current frontal melee opponents of A and B). On its next turn unit C would be able to turn on the flank of either A or B. However enemy LI D is moved to the position shown.

Unit C cannot wheel to charge as insufficient room. If it turn 90 degrees it doesn't have room to conform to either enemy flank edge due to the presence of LI D.

Do the LI move away because contacted by an enemy unit doing a conform?

If not are the only options
1. Charge the LI and have to pursue at least 1UD (2UD if unit C was mounted), or
2. Turn 90 degrees and do a partial conform that doesn't count as a flank charge, or
3. Stay in place


Hi Alan,

I think the unit which wants to flank can:

1. Stay in place
2. Conform to a flank but not fully (so not melee support or multiple combat but does cancel most special abilities)
3. Charge the LI

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 590
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 7:23 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


Hi Alan,

I think the unit which wants to flank can:

1. Stay in place
2. Conform to a flank but not fully (so not melee support or multiple combat but does cancel most special abilities)
3. Charge the LI

Andy


Without going into what is written it feels wrong to me. It makes light foot much more important, as mobile and cheap second line flank protectors.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 87
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 11:02 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


Hi Alan,

I think the unit which wants to flank can:

1. Stay in place
2. Conform to a flank but not fully (so not melee support or multiple combat but does cancel most special abilities)
3. Charge the LI

Andy


Without going into what is written it feels wrong to me. It makes light foot much more important, as mobile and cheap second line flank protectors.


If unit C above advanced a full 1 UD when it entered the space there is no problem.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 756
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 1:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
One question is how this compares to the discussion on Evade https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10850 where it was agreed a blocking LI is forced to move away when touched by an evading unit. Why isn't the blocking LI D forced to move away by a conforming unit?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 2:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I tend to agree Mike.  This is effectively the same as if unit B were not there (eg an attack on the end of a line), I think that the LI would be forced to evade being contacted by a heavier enemy (conforming LI p54)
 
Note, if the LI were a heavier unit, then it would prevent C fully conforming on the flank of A as required on p52. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Three
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 20 Déc 2017
Messages: 206
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 2:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I was asked to rule on this at the competition.
I initially said that the LI has to evade.
When (quite rightly) asked to point out where that was written, I couldn't.
I completely agree that it looks and feels wrong, makes LI potentially far too powerful, but as written there is nothing i could find to stop the LI going into the space and nothing that unit C can do conform into the flank of either unit.

Pg 54 was looked at, but it's about LI conforming into heavies and doesn't really fix the issue in question.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1616
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 3:06 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
- The rule on p52 is absolutely clear that you can't move enemy troops in order to conform fully to an enemy.

- The Incomplete Conformation rule on p53 does still enable the moving unit to fight on the flank even without (illegally) moving the LF away.

- The Melee Support rule on p60 does explicitly cover the situation in which "incomplete" Melee Support conformation counts as Simple Support, so the attacker is still gaining something from making an incomplete conformation.

- If the blocking unit were anything other than LF, no-one would bat an eyelid to say it can't be moved.

There would have been many opportunities for El Kreator to include a "special case" in any of these rules if he had intended that enemy LI should be able to be bumped out of postion during conformation, but as none of them are there I'm not seeing any hint here that this is anything other than a scenario which is fully compliant with the rules both as written, and as intended.


Unless anyone is proposing that this situation is so egrarious that it needs an immediate change in the rules, maybe the lesson here is (as Andy says) not to dick about with sneaking just a bit past the flank of an enemy - get all the way past (and in so doing accept the greater risk of being contacted or ZoCced by someone new) and this issue goes away anyway?
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 306
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 4:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As I recall, in other contexts front edge contact by heavy troops is deemed required to destroy or force evasion of LI, and not simply brushing by.

The alternatives - simple support to both flanks, or chasing off of the LI then turning for a flank/rear attack are not necessarily sub-optimal.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 4:24 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Guys, I think the position of the LI is key. 
P47 says the LI must evade when contacted by a heavier enemy, unless the LI would be in a position to provide support.

Here the LI is at an angle so not in a position to support, so I suggest it must evade. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 756
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 5:28 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
This is effectively the same as if unit B were not there (eg an attack on the end of a line) 

Not quite. If unit B wasn't there then unit C could wheel in a charge, forcing the LI to evade before hitting flank of unit A.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 657
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
Guys, I think the position of the LI is key. 
P47 says the LI must evade when contacted by a heavier enemy, unless the LI would be in a position to provide support.

Here the LI is at an angle so not in a position to support, so I suggest it must evade. 


Good catch Ramses.

I note the exact wording is

“Light infantry who would be contacted in open terrain by the charge of heavy troops must evade, unless after conformation they would:
* Be in melee with light troops, elephants or scythed chariots,
* Be in a position to provide support to a friendly unit.â€

(The only relevant errata covers what is required to count as being in open terrain.)

1. This means that not just any movement requires them to evade, but only charges (though other rules covers them if contacted during an enemy evade).
2 This also means the LI need not be the target of the charge, only that they be contacted during a charge (and not able to provide support after confirmation).

However, given that the enemy heavy units are already in melee with other friends (and the moving unit starts in contact with said enemy), I don’t think a move to contact said enemies is a charge but rather a movement. This seems to imply it can’t make use of the rule on p47 requiring light infantry to flee from charges. (Though perhaps the light infantry should also be required to flee from any enemy move which ends in contact with the light infantry’s friends rather than just charges. Perhaps this is why p 44 calls such moves charges even though p51 (last bullet) says such conforms are not charges.)


Dernière édition par KevinD le Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:24 pm; édité 2 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1616
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:13 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
AlanCutner a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
This is effectively the same as if unit B were not there (eg an attack on the end of a line) 

Not quite. If unit B wasn't there then unit C could wheel in a charge, forcing the LI to evade before hitting flank of unit A.


Aaaah - I see...

p44 - Prohibited Charges first bullet does explicitly say that a unit such as Unit C in this example that starts touching an enemy in melee can charge into contact with it, which in this case is the flank of A

"A move to provide support or to charge another edge of such an enemy is still allowed"

Being in the path of a charge clearly would force the LI to flee.

So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 657
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:28 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:

So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !


You could start your charge with a 90 turn, which contacts the LI and forces it to flee, and then conform onto the flank (assuming if it is an unmaneuverable unit it had the required extra CP).


Dernière édition par KevinD le Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:32 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 756
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 27, 2025 6:29 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
AlanCutner a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
This is effectively the same as if unit B were not there (eg an attack on the end of a line) 

Not quite. If unit B wasn't there then unit C could wheel in a charge, forcing the LI to evade before hitting flank of unit A.


So this is actually the "can you temporarily overlap an enemy with your rear corner when wheeling out of a 1 MU wide gap?" question then... !

I don't think so. I have no issue with unit C being unable to wheel because it would overlap an enemy unit. The questions are
1. If unit C turns 90 degrees to make contact with a side edge, is that a charge causing the LI to flee, creating room for a conform.
2. If the answer to 1 is 'no', then does the LI have to move away (evade?) if contacted by an enemy unit conforming.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum