Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Continuing a charge - exceptions
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 11, 2025 4:18 am    Sujet du message: Continuing a charge - exceptions Répondre en citant
Suppose an impetuous mounted is 1.5 UD from an enemy LI, and there is an enemy elephant behind the LI (i.e., 2 UD in front of the Impetuous Mtd).

Kn

LI
El

If the Impetuous Mtd charge the LI (which must flee), must the Impetuous Mtd continue into the elephant behind?

P 43, #6 says they must move their full charge distance. But then #8 (2nd bullet) says ‘mandatory for all impetuous units but only if they would contact new enemy or they are pursuing evading units unless this would result in any of the “Exceotions to uncontrolled charges†(see p 46). This says (among other things “If the charge would cause a mounted unit to become subject to panic (see note).â€

Doesthis mean the charging unit need not continue but instead stops short?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 380
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 11, 2025 5:09 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hi Kevin,

What is the target of the charge? The LI only or the El?

But notice it does not matter.

If the target was the LI then all targets have evaded and you perform step 6 Which makes you contact the elephant. Look at step 6 again - specifically the next to last bullet. Impetuous units may not stop at 2 UD but must continue their full move. So moving 2 UD makes them hit the elephant. They would do so even if the EL were 2.1 UD away.

and of course if you charge the elephant as a target then you contact it too.

Step 8 applies if not all targets evade. In this case those impetuous units which make contact or are in support stop and the remainder of the group then looks to see if they have to continue following the rules you cite
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 593
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 11, 2025 7:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
There is no impetuous charge as the unit would contact the elephant. On the other hand, if it chooses to charge, it must move at least 2ud, and so will contact the elephant, no voluntarily stopping short
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1671
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 12, 2025 1:33 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As Mike says. And this is clear in the text.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 12, 2025 1:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thanks everyone!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 313
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 12, 2025 3:51 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Kevin, I believe 8-2d bullet is covering a group charge with impetuous units.
Consider a line of 4 impetuous Cv.
Ahead of the 2d unit is MI close in. Ahead of the 4th unit is LH at some distance.
The group moves to strike the MI. Unit 2 is in melee with units 1 and 3 in support. Unit 4 has a new enemy, the LH, in range and so must continue its charge.

Now suppose instead of LH, it's El. That is an exception, so the unit 4 is no longer mandated to charge full distance. It can stay with the group or move any amount up to full distance, striking the El if it chooses.

Suppose it's LH in front of El. That is also an exception due to the possibility that the LH evade and unit 4 plows into the El. So again unit 4 can chose how far to advance. But if it does strike the LH, then the LH can evade, and now unit 4 must chase and so ends up plowing into the El.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 503
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 12, 2025 7:36 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
1. There is no such thing as an “impetuous charge†under ADLG.

2. There are impetuous units - which are ALWAYS impetuous throughout the game.

3. Impetuous units are SOMETIMES required to make an uncontrolled charge.

4. Impetuous units that make a charge (regardless of whether it is uncontrolled, spontaneous, or paid for) are ALWAYS required to go their maximum charge distance “if possible†(sometimes in-game conditions may prevent this).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 313
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juin 12, 2025 7:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It is quite clear that impetuous units do not have to "continue" a charge if it would result in an "exception".
I must concede that it is moot if they do continue whether they have the option to halt short or must go full distance (and thus end up in the exception).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 503
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 1:50 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
It is quite clear that impetuous units do not have to "continue" a charge if it would result in an "exception".
I must concede that it is moot if they do continue whether they have the option to halt short or must go full distance (and thus end up in the exception).


Impetuous troops are NOT required to make an uncontrolled charge if it would result in an “exceptionâ€. Of course they can still chose to make a spontaneous or paid charge against a target that exempts them from an uncontrolled charge.

Regardless, whenever an impetuous unit makes a charge it must endeavour to move its full (adjusted) distance, unless an explicit rule permits it to move less (e.g. reaching a support position, table edge etc).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 380
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 5:32 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:

Regardless, whenever an impetuous unit makes a charge it must endeavour to move its full (adjusted) distance, unless an explicit rule permits it to move less (e.g. reaching a support position, table edge etc).


This is not correct, but it is commonly believed.

If all targets evade then impetuous units must continue their charge up to their full adjusted move distance as specified in step 6.

However look at step 8 again. Impetuous units which are part of a group and do not make contact, or support a friendly unit which does, are only required to continue the charge if they would contact a new enemy that is not an exception to the uncontrolled charges on page 46.

(It is not helpful that step 7, which covers the situation where not all targets evade, refers to step 6 which says impetuous units must go their full distance. But that definitive rule has specific exceptions in step 8 which override it)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 423
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 7:22 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
This previous discussion from Oct 2023 may help as might these diagrams from my blog:






_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 380
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 3:06 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Wait Martin - aren't you the one that objected to looking at facebook in another post? And you want me to go to blog to get clarification for the diagrams you posted? Razz

I cant say if you are correct or not, but can confirm, after reading the notes on your blog, that your understanding of the matter is the same as mine.

that should worry you a little bit.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 423
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Ven Juin 13, 2025 5:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
Wait Martin - aren't you the one that objected to looking at facebook in another post? And you want me to go to blog to get clarification for the diagrams you posted? Razz.

Not me, the above is not what I objected to.

I did object to a link that went to a private F*c*book group that required me to join & then apply for membership of the group. So a link that went nowhere even if you had a F*c*book account. Rolling Eyes

A clean link to a public website is totally different. Then again you could use the first link I provided to a lengthy thread on this forum, struggle through it, and skip the carefully crafted summary on my blog altogether. Wink

SteveR a écrit:
... your understanding of the matter is the same as mine. [T]hat should worry you a little bit.

It does. Quite a lot really. Embarassed
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum