Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Charging groups voluntarily splitting
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 682
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Juil 21, 2025 7:08 pm    Sujet du message: Charging groups voluntarily splitting Répondre en citant
Can charging groups voluntarily break up when charging?

1. Suppose a mixed group of non-impetuous foot and elephants charges and all targets evade. The elephants must go 2 UD. Can the foot choose to go only 1 UD and thus no longer be in a group with the elephants?

2. Suppose the charging group was all non-impetuous foot? Can some voluntarily stop at 1 UD while others continue on?

3. Suppose the charging group was a mix of impetuous and non impetuous troops? Can (some of) the non-impetuous troops stop after 1-2 UDs while the impetuous troops continue on?

Why? Often one might want to drop a flanking element back to better cover the flank while the rest press on.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 12:35 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Broadly speaking, the group must stay together during the move (p10). 
The one exception is where the units in the group have different movement allowances (p43, step 6, 2nd bp), in which case they dice separately for their variable movement. So:-
  1. An elephant and HI would dice separately, but otherwise the group would stay together.
  2. HI and MI would dice separately, otherwise the group must stay together.  
  3. Impetuous and regular troops would only dice separately where their movement was different. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mark G Fry
Légat


Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017
Messages: 601
Localisation: Bristol, UK
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 12:45 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
Broadly speaking, the group must stay together during the move (p10). 
The one exception is where the units in the group have different movement allowances (p43, step 6, 2nd bp), in which case they dice separately for their variable movement. So:-
  1. An elephant and HI would dice separately, but otherwise the group would stay together.
  2. HI and MI would dice separately, otherwise the group must stay together.  
  3. Impetuous and regular troops would only dice separately where their movement was different. 


Isn't there also something about units in a group (an order group I assume) always moving at the speed of the slowest unit?
Although whether that applies in a 'failed' charge is an interesting question.
I'd have though that, if the group was originally ordered as a group, then they dice for their movement as a group. So if they dice short, then all units will only move the distance of the shortest move, if they dice long, then the same applies.

So, for example a mixed group of 2 LC and 2 LF would only charge a maximum of 4UD if they rolled long or 2 UD if the rolled short.
It's a 'penalty' for only using a single command point to order a mixed group.

Although I can see that this might be overridden by p43, step 6 2ndbp.
_________________
'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 3:34 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mark G Fry a écrit:
 So, for example a mixed group of 2 LC and 2 LF would only charge a maximum of 4UD if they rolled long or 2 UD if the rolled short.
It's a 'penalty' for only using a single command point to order a mixed group.


Although I can see that this might be overridden by p43, step 6 2ndbp.


As noted, step 6, 2nd bp does indeed override the rules on groups. So, because they have different speeds, they dice separately. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 682
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 4:47 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So, suppose your charging group consists of both impetuous and non-impetuous troops and all targets evade. Say HKn Impetuous and HC Impact charge LC and fail to catch them. Both types (HC and HKn) roll a 3-4 so can move their standard distance (3 or 4 UD respectively).

So… the HKn Impetuous must go 3 UD (points 6 and 8 on p 43).

But what about the HC Impact? What are their options?

Can they go 2 UD and then stop? (P 43 #6 5th bullet “Non-impetuous units should advance if possible at least… 2 UD for mounted. They may then stop...†and #8 2nd bullet “Continuing a charge is optional for non-impetuous unitsâ€)

Can they go 3 UD and remain a group with the Impetuous knights? Does P 43 #6 5th bullet “up to their maximum adjusted charge distance†mean they can choose a distance between 2UD and their “maximum adjusted charge distance†- 4 UD in this case?

Can they go 4 UD? (P 43 #6 5th bullet “They may … continue the charge up to their maximum adjusted charge distance.â€)

FYI P 43 #6 5th bullet reads “Non-impetuous units should advance if possible at least… 2 UD for mounted. They may then stop or continue the charge up to their maximum adjusted charge distance.â€)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 5:47 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As above, each unit or group with a different movement rate will dice separately. Consider an extreme case where 3x impetuous HKn alternating with 3x impact HC units, declare a charge as a group on some enemy LC. The target must be within 3UD to allow all the units to charge as a group.

When the target evades the chargers dice for their adjusted charge distance. Because each unit has a different movement rate from its neighbours, each unit will roll separately.

The impetuous units must move the full adjusted distance, while the ‘standard’ units may choose to halt early. 

Given the different movement rates, this would probably result in the group fracturing completely - obviously something to be avoided. 

 Moral; group like type and speed units together.


Note, if the group contained some impetuous HC and some impact HC, then the entire group would use a single adjusted move dice, and the impact HC would be compelled to move the full distance with the impetuous HC to maintain the group. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 682
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 10:38 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It seems odd that HC Impact w HKn Impetuous can choose to move short (or long or the same distance) but HC Impact w HC Impetuous or HKn Impact w HKn Impetuous can’t.

What if the HC Impact roll a 1 and the HKn Impetuous roll a 3? Can the HC still choose to move only 2 UD?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Juil 23, 2025 11:11 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I am not sure I understand your problem. 

The rules on the movement of groups are clear, (P10)
Citation:
Groups can be formed and dispersed at will during the movement phase. However, to be activated and moved together, units must form a group both at the beginning and at the end of each of their moves (but not necessarily during the entire movement phase). There are however some exceptions when continuing a charge (see p 43) or due to adjusting positions after interpenetration (see p 39).
So the group must be maintained unless circumstances override this. The point being that this is dependent on their movement rates, not on their special abilities. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 595
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 7:07 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
…. when continuing a charge (see p 43) ….


This seems to support the idea that a charging group can split up, with some continuing the charge and others not. Of course for impetuous it can be compulsory. Others can find it useful to do it to optionally to catch evaders of different speeds, or when some enemy evade and others stand, or to drop some back to protect flanks etc.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 8:41 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Sort of Mike. 
What I am saying relates to those units that have not contacted those enemy units comprising the initial target. 

If all these units have the same movement rate, then I think they all must move together as a group - the rules on groups p10 do not permit the player to break a group voluntarily.

If some units in this group are impetuous then I think the entire group must follow the rules for impetuous units, so must move their full amount. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum