KevinD
Tribun
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 700
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 3:36 pm Sujet du message: Conforming after disengage |
|
Suppose you have a unit (X) which starts your movement in simple support of a friend (Y) but that friend then disengages (breaks off) leaving your unit (X) in corner to corner or side edge to side edge contact with the enemy. Does your unit (X) now conform in this turn as it’s in corner to corner or edge to edge with an enemy and not providing support or does it not conform as it began the turn in a simple support position?
Start Turn (X, Y = Friends, Z = Enemy)
Z
YX
After Y disengages
Z
..X
Y
Does X conform to Z this move? |
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 732
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 4:55 pm Sujet du message: |
|
If it fails to move off it conforms. _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
KevinD
Tribun
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 700
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 5:14 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Thank you, but
Why?
I’m not sure your answer comports with the wording used in the rules.
P 51 “Conforming units already in contact
“Due to melee results or movements IN THE PREVIOUS SEQUENCE, a unit may still be in contact with an enemy without being either in melee or in a position to support a friend in melee….â€
What does “in the previous sequence†mean?
P 23 defines a “Sequenceâ€
“A game turn consists of two sequences, one per player. Each player-sequence is then divided into several phases.â€
This seems to read as if a “sequence†is defined as either the attacker’s or defender’s half of the turn and that conformation of existing contacts is only done if after such a previous “sequence†there is an a contact not resulting in melee or support and not if the actions in the current “sequence†leave such a situation. (Here I’m only talking about “Conforming units already in meleeâ€, there are of course other types of conformations such as conforming to an enemy after charging them, moving into a support position or after pursuit.†- but these don’t apply here.)
Or does the phrase “in the previous sequence†mean something else, such as just being an awkward and verbose way to say “previously� |
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 732
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 7:11 pm Sujet du message: |
|
You are correct in your working through the interpretation.
We always need to be mindful that the rules are written in French and translated.
Taking things literally is a minefield of its own.
I used a US learn French tape to get the bill for coffee.
I was told to use "billet" , waiters looked at me questioningly (in Paris as if I was a complete idiot) .
Next year using a British tape I changed to "l'addition' worked a treat.
The french have a loose connection to individual words better linked in whole sentence. So the British were/are regarded as picky when we wanted clarification of stuff in v3. V4 was much better translated for the English Market. _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 7:47 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Dickstick a écrit: | If it fails to move off it conforms. | This is correct.Â
Kevin, while the definition you quote is logically correct, conformation also occurs during the current player’s turn as the situation changes, eg. after a charge.
It might be better defined as:- Citation: | conformation must occur by the end of the movement phase |
In your example, the melee has changed due to the main unit Y disengaging. Since X is still in contact with Z, X must now conform or move away.
I might add that this is the classic manoeuvre used to weaken an enemy using ‘hit and run’ tactics |
|
KevinD
Tribun
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 700
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 10, 2025 8:37 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Thanks!
I’d love to see this included in a future errata. Maybe just change “in the previous sequence†to “previouslyâ€. |
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Lun Aoû 11, 2025 4:02 am Sujet du message: |
|
They could disengage as a group, and since they do not, it suggests they intend to engage in melee, and this ruling is to their benefit. |
|