Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Question about AMBUSHES exactly on the edge of a terrain.
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
ecnomus
Barbare


Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015
Messages: 26
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 2:11 pm    Sujet du message: Question about AMBUSHES exactly on the edge of a terrain. Répondre en citant
Hi people. I have a question you to clarify.

Suppose ambush marker#1 is placed exactly on the edge of a village. In that ambush we have a hidden MI X unit. Outside the town and exactly 1 UD away, there is an enemy MI A unit.

It is the turn of the player who discovers the ambush and proceeds as follows:
He reveals his ambushed MI X and advance exactly 1 UD.

The rulebook states that ambushes must be completely inside the terrain that blocks visibility (page 70). It also states that a unit positioned right on the edge is considered to be in the terrain and benefits from cover. From this, we understand that it is possible to place an ambush marker right on the edge of a terrain.

The question is: since it is indicated that the ambush marker must be completely inside the terrain (even if it is on the exact edge), when revealing the ambush, and if the MI X unit moves exactly 1 UD.
Can that unit completely leave the terrain and not receive any penalty for doing so while fighting the enemey MI (I refer to fighting in difficult terrain)?
The enemy MI A is exactly 1 UD away from the terrain, therefore MI X cannot advance more than 1 UD.

Is that enough to leave the terrain completely? Does it fight without the difficult terrain penalty?

Thanks in advance.
_________________
Ecnomus
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 136
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 2:51 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
ecnomus a écrit:
Hi people. I have a question you to clarify.

Suppose ambush marker#1 is placed exactly on the edge of a village. In that ambush we have a hidden MI X unit. Outside the town and exactly 1 UD away, there is an enemy MI A unit.

It is the turn of the player who discovers the ambush and proceeds as follows:
He reveals his ambushed MI X and advance exactly 1 UD.

The rulebook states that ambushes must be completely inside the terrain that blocks visibility (page 70). It also states that a unit positioned right on the edge is considered to be in the terrain and benefits from cover. From this, we understand that it is possible to place an ambush marker right on the edge of a terrain.

The question is: since it is indicated that the ambush marker must be completely inside the terrain (even if it is on the exact edge), when revealing the ambush, and if the MI X unit moves exactly 1 UD.
Can that unit completely leave the terrain and not receive any penalty for doing so while fighting the enemey MI (I refer to fighting in difficult terrain)?
The enemy MI A is exactly 1 UD away from the terrain, therefore MI X cannot advance more than 1 UD.

Is that enough to leave the terrain completely? Does it fight without the difficult terrain penalty?

Thanks in advance.


Yes; the MI which was in ambush has exactly enough room to leave the terrain and not be penalised by it.

It will have to contact (i.e. charge) the other MI in order to do this.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 378
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 5:10 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
A unit is "in" the terrain if any part (i.e. area) of the base is enclosed by the terrain.
A unit is penalized if it is "in" the terrain, or if it "attacks" across the edge of a more penalizing terrain.
It is undefined whether the edge must cover the full width of the defender or only partially.
"Attack" is undefined. Obviously if you charge an enemy you are the attacker. But in the unlikely event that you win a combat and then turn to face a melee support who is situated just at the edge of terrain, it's not obvious.

But if your back edge just on the edge of penalizing terrain, you are not penalized. Unless you are a WWg...
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1288
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 12:10 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.

Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain. 
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain. 
(See revealing an ambush)

Citation:
An ambush is automatically revealed if:  
  • An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
    marker.  
  • An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
    An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
    enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
    line or crest line (see p 71).  
  • A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).

When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
ecnomus
Barbare


Inscrit le: 30 Juin 2015
Messages: 26
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 1:03 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.

Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain. 
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain. 
(See revealing an ambush)

Citation:
An ambush is automatically revealed if:  
  • An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
    marker.  
  • An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
    An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
    enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
    line or crest line (see p 71).  
  • A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).

When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement.


Hi Ramses, I think I don’t quite understand your answer, or maybe it doesn’t exactly address the question I raised.

First, it’s necessary for me to know whether an ambush marker can be placed exactly on the edge of a terrain piece.

If that’s possible, then the question I’m asking is whether, if an MI unit (from the ambush marker) moves out of the terrain exactly one UD, it ends up completely outside the terrain or not.

Conceptually, it’s on the boundary on the side of the open, should we consider that being right on the edge of the terrain is equivalent to being inside the terrain? And therefore the unit must fight with a negative modifier?

Thanks for your answers !!
_________________
Ecnomus
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 136
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 2:14 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
No Andy, there is not enough space for a 1UD base to fit in the gap which is less than 1UD, the distance at which the ambush is revealed.

Consequently as Neep says, if the ambushing unit advances into contact, some part of the ambushing MI must remain on the village and consequently will be fighting in difficult terrain. 
However if it stays put, and the enemy MI advances into contact, then they would both be fighting in difficult terrain. 
(See revealing an ambush)

Citation:
An ambush is automatically revealed if:  
  • An enemy unit approaches within one UD of the
    marker.  
  • An enemy has a clear line of sight to the marker.
    An ambush behind a hill is revealed if the
    enemy's line of sight is not blocked by a horizon
    line or crest line (see p 71).  
  • A friendly unit passes through the marker (p 39).

When a unit reaches a position to discover an
ambush or comes within one UD of the marker, it
must stop its movement.


Hi Ramses II,

From Dan's postings in the below forum question:

https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10398&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

Dan stated:

Thank you for the reminder

The Official confirmed ruling is:

The unit may no longer move if the ambush contains a unit when it is revealed at 1 UD.

'At 1 UD' not 'within 1 UD'.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1288
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 7:00 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hmm. I am only too human and have a fallible memory.

If this is indeed official, then there ought to be an errata as it clearly contradicts the rules as written. 

There are two situations here;
  • Voluntarily revealing the ambush at some point during the opponent’s movement phase, when the moving unit(s) may continue moving, but not into contact with the ambushing unit 
  • Forcing the opponent to reveal the ambush by moving unit(s) into proximity with the ambush. Here the moving unit(s) must stop if the ambush is real.

I will check with Dan and El Kreator what is intended, though stopping ’at’ 1UD seems to be contrary to other sections of the rules, as it would prevent some shooting, spontaneous charges etc, 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 378
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 9:43 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
If I understand Ecnomus correctly, they are asking a very simple question that has nothing to do with ambushes, per se.
If MI, having a depth of 1UD, at the very edge of a terrain feature advances 1UD forward, is it out of the terrain?
The answer of course is yes it is out of the terrain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum