Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Placing Impassable terrain is almost for sure?
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Laurence
Archer


Inscrit le: 31 Mar 2017
Messages: 51
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 12:21 am    Sujet du message: Placing Impassable terrain is almost for sure? Répondre en citant
There is a Coastal zone in the LEFT flank and the RIGHT flank is not occupied by other terrain yet.

a)
Then dice roll for Impassable terrain (can be only placed in a flank sector.)
The dice roll indicates the same sector where the Coastal zone already is placed.
Same result with the re-roll, so the Impassable terrain is discarded.

b)
But how to understand the Impassable rule on page 75 that says "...Both D6 are re-rolled UNTIL a non-central sector is SELECTED"...
...means that you can roll and roll and roll again until dices are nominating the sector and position in the free RIGHT flank?
So placing the Impassable terrain is "for sure" as long as there are not other terrain elements hinder a placing?

Or a) applies?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 12:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
An impassable can be placed in the same zone as a coastal feature. If there was other terrain in there besides the coastal zone it might not be able to fit, but it has to fit if it’s only the coastal and impassable.

However, B is wrong. If it doesn’t fit in flank sectors twice (or even once if another feature has been discarded this way already), then it is discarded.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 12:37 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Simply put, the edge of the table is now the edge of the sector. So continue using the above definition. 

Note, if a river is chosen the edge of the table remains as usual. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Laurence
Archer


Inscrit le: 31 Mar 2017
Messages: 51
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 11:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thank you!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 314
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 4:17 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
A river placed between 4 and 6 UD will leave 4UD on either side. What is the convention with terrain pieces? may an industrious and obsessed player prepare multiple pieces with different dimensions and then choose which one when placing on the table?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 758
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Sam Fév 08, 2025 4:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Specific terrain pieces are selected before any are placed. Its not just the type of terrain thats picked. So if a 6UD piece is picked it can't be swapped for something of a different size.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Laurence
Archer


Inscrit le: 31 Mar 2017
Messages: 51
MessagePosté le: Dim Fév 09, 2025 11:44 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Laurence a écrit:
There is a Coastal zone in the LEFT flank and the RIGHT flank is not occupied by other terrain yet.

a)
Then dice roll for Impassable terrain (can be only placed in a flank sector.)
The dice roll indicates the same sector where the Coastal zone already is placed.
Same result with the re-roll, so the Impassable terrain is discarded.

b)
But how to understand the Impassable rule on page 75 that says "...Both D6 are re-rolled UNTIL a non-central sector is SELECTED"...
...means that you can roll and roll and roll again until dices are nominating the sector and position in the free RIGHT flank?
So placing the Impassable terrain is "for sure" as long as there are not other terrain elements hinder a placing?

Or a) applies?



...my example was not complete. I meant the LEFT flank is fully occupied with the Coastal zone and other terrain elements, no space there for Impassable terrain.
So I understand that a) is applied.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Laurence
Archer


Inscrit le: 31 Mar 2017
Messages: 51
MessagePosté le: Dim Fév 09, 2025 12:27 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Laurence a écrit:
Laurence a écrit:
There is a Coastal zone in the LEFT flank and the RIGHT flank is not occupied by other terrain yet.

a)
Then dice roll for Impassable terrain (can be only placed in a flank sector.)
The dice roll indicates the same sector where the Coastal zone already is placed.
Same result with the re-roll, so the Impassable terrain is discarded.

b)
But how to understand the Impassable rule on page 75 that says "...Both D6 are re-rolled UNTIL a non-central sector is SELECTED"...
...means that you can roll and roll and roll again until dices are nominating the sector and position in the free RIGHT flank?
So placing the Impassable terrain is "for sure" as long as there are not other terrain elements hinder a placing?

Or a) applies?



...my example was not complete. I meant the LEFT flank is fully occupied with the Coastal zone and another terrain element, no space there for Impassable terrain.
So I understand that a) is applied.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Fév 11, 2025 12:08 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Correct. P74 third bullet applies
Citation:
The first time a terrain piece cannot be placed on the table due to lack of space the player may re-roll the dice for placement. This re-roll is allowed only once for each player. If the terrain still
cannot be placed, it is then discarded
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum