Auteur |
Message |
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 88
|
Posté le: Dim Fév 02, 2025 9:55 pm Sujet du message: Groups |
|
Hi Guys,
This has probably been answered before (apologies if I have missed it).
The rules state (page 10):
The units comprising a group must be in contact with adjacent units of the group by their lateral or frontal edges and with one corner of their frontal edge. They must also be facing in the same direction.
The example picture then states:
B1 cannot form a group with A2 because the units are not aligned corner to corner.
So which is it; in contact with one corner of your front edge or aligned corner to corner?
I take it there has been some sort of ruling about the light infantry stands that get placed in front of the group line and yet still count as part of the group (although not aligned by a front corner, front edge or lateral edge?
What about a column of units a single element wide?
Andy |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 2:40 am Sujet du message: |
|
One unit behind another lined up, has a front edge and corner in contact with the unit in front of it.
X
Y
A column is a group.
So a LI can be on the front of the group. like an outcropping.
IIRC there was a version in WRG DBX or such that said the frontline had to be the width. But that is not written in the rules here. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Zoltan
Légat
Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015 Messages: 503
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 3:36 am Sujet du message: |
|
Andy it's a three criteria test for each unit:
1. Is the unit in contact with a friend by its side (lateral) or front edge?
2. Is one of the front corners of the unit in contact with the friend?
3. Are the units being considered facing in the same direction?
As illustrated in the diagram, in contact with is the short-form of "touching and perfectly aligned with corner to corner". A picture paints a thousand words etc etc.
Accordingly, B1 fails the criteria 1 test with respect to A2. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 88
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 11:00 am Sujet du message: |
|
Hazelbark a écrit: | One unit behind another lined up, has a front edge and corner in contact with the unit in front of it.
X
Y
A column is a group.
So a LI can be on the front of the group. like an outcropping.
IIRC there was a version in WRG DBX or such that said the frontline had to be the width. But that is not written in the rules here. |
Thanks Dan.
I understand the requirements but the unit in front does not have a front, side or front corner in touch with any other unit.
The ones behind it all meet the requirements but not the one in front.
It is a pedantic point but it does throw up some other questions.
How about a unit of two medium swordsmen and two LI.
The group is in a line with Msw on each end and the LI in the middle but they are one behind the other.
Hard to get across without a picture and the following will be crap:
MS LI MS
XX LI XX
The Msw ar 40 x 40 and the LI are 40 x 20 but one behind the other so the same depth as the Msw.
According to page 10 that is not a group because the rear LI is not aligned corner-to-corner.
Andy |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 88
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 11:05 am Sujet du message: |
|
Zoltan a écrit: | Andy it's a three criteria test for each unit:
1. Is the unit in contact with a friend by its side (lateral) or front edge?
2. Is one of the front corners of the unit in contact with the friend?
3. Are the units being considered facing in the same direction?
As illustrated in the diagram, in contact with is the short-form of "touching and perfectly aligned with corner to corner". A picture paints a thousand words etc etc.
Accordingly, B1 fails the criteria 1 test with respect to A2. |
Hi Zoltan,
I get the corner-to-corner definition in the picture and that's fine.
It still does not cover a single LI on its own in front of a line as it meets only one of the three requirements (facing the same direction).
Andy |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 4:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Andy Fyfe a écrit: |
According to page 10 that is not a group because the rear LI is not aligned corner-to-corner.
|
It is corner to corner with the unit in front of it. It groups with the LI to its front. That LI groups to others its a chain. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1671
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 4:52 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Andy Fyfe a écrit: |
It still does not cover a single LI on its own in front of a line as it meets only one of the three requirements (facing the same direction).
|
The single LI is in contact to the unit behind it.
You are seeing a problem that is not present. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Zoltan
Légat
Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015 Messages: 503
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 6:24 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Or to rephrase Dan’s response, the unit behind the LI is in aligned front edge and corner contact with the LI. Thus the unit behind is in a group with the LI.Â
We simply don’t need to “prove†that the LI is in a group. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 88
|
Posté le: Lun Fév 03, 2025 10:20 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Hazelbark a écrit: | Andy Fyfe a écrit: |
It still does not cover a single LI on its own in front of a line as it meets only one of the three requirements (facing the same direction).
|
The single LI is in contact to the unit behind it.
You are seeing a problem that is not present. |
OK guys; it's not a problem!
Columns are in a group and that extends to groups that contain units in a column.
I'm fine with that.
Andy |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 313
|
Posté le: Mar Fév 04, 2025 12:04 am Sujet du message: |
|
The rules are not mathematically precise. The two unit column is not a group by the RAW text because the unit in front does not have a front corner touching.
It is generally understood that units can group so long as one lateral or breadthwise edge is in proper contact, i.e heavy foot and El as:
Code: | H1H1H1H1E1E1E1E1
H1H1H1H1E1E1E1E1
H1H1H1H1E1E1E1E1
H2H2H2H2E1E1E1E1
H2H2H2H2
H2H2H2H2 |
|
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|