Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Evade
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 87
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 20, 2025 4:25 pm    Sujet du message: Evade Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

Consider the following:



Unit A - charging MS
Unit B - MS
Unit C - LI
Unit 1 - Heavy cavalry

Unit A charges Unit 1 in the flank

Unit 1 wants to evade.

Evade procedure step 1; unit 1 is charged on its flank so makes a quarter turn to face right.

However, there is no room as the base is wider than it is deep (40 x 30mm) due to the LI.

What happens?

The evade is not 'blocked' as per stage 2 as neither of these apply (they are both after the initial reorientation).

Under step 5 'Evade Movement' it states:

If a LI would be contacted in open terrain by an evading enemy heavy troop, the LI must itself try to evade. If LI is contacted by that enemy it is Routed (seep 62) and the enemy stops. If the LI is in rough or difficult terrain it does not evade and is an obstacle for the evading enemy.


However, this is step 5 and we have not even got past step 1.

The 'spirit of the rule' would suggest the LI has to evade (although in what direction it would evade is a question).

To throw in a supplementary question; what happens if the LI is LH instead of LI?

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Légat


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 657
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 20, 2025 5:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I think the LI has to evade, and this evade is directly away from the enemy (i.e., to its flank).

As for if the LI was instead LH:

(My inclination is that you just evade to the side as the initial UD is not blocked and the evading unit is not ZOCed from behind. However…)

I have seen more authoritative sources (Dan Hazelwood I think) state that if you don’t have the room to reorient then you cannot evade. (I really dislike this as I think it is reading something additional into the rules and violates the spirit of the rule on having to get a ZOC “behind†the unit to prevent an evade but I’m pretty sure this is how it is ruled.)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 501
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 20, 2025 6:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Deleted my rubbish.

Dernière édition par Zoltan le Mar Mai 20, 2025 8:27 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 372
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 20, 2025 6:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
The LI does NOT prevent the HC quarter turn. LI can be interpenetrated in any direction.


Enemy LI may not be interpenetrated.

Each case of allowed interpenetration listed on page 39 includes the word "friendly" and it is apparently necessary that it does.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Mai 20, 2025 6:36 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy, I think you have answered your own question, at least in part. 

During the evade process of the blue HC, the red LI will be contacted (it doesn’t matter when this will be) so the LI must evade before the evade move of the HC is considered, thus the HC may reorient and evades. 

However, LC is not required to evade under these circumstances, so if unit C is LC, however disagreeable it may be, the HC is blocked by an obstacle and therefore is trapped, cannot move and is charged on the flank. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 87
MessagePosté le: Mer Mai 21, 2025 9:28 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
Andy, I think you have answered your own question, at least in part. 

During the evade process of the blue HC, the red LI will be contacted (it doesn’t matter when this will be) so the LI must evade before the evade move of the HC is considered, thus the HC may reorient and evades. 

However, LC is not required to evade under these circumstances, so if unit C is LC, however disagreeable it may be, the HC is blocked by an obstacle and therefore is trapped, cannot move and is charged on the flank. 


Thank you.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
MarkK
Archer


Inscrit le: 07 Nov 2024
Messages: 64
MessagePosté le: Mer Mai 21, 2025 12:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
Andy, I think you have answered your own question, at least in part. 

During the evade process of the blue HC, the red LI will be contacted (it doesn’t matter when this will be) so the LI must evade before the evade move of the HC is considered, thus the HC may reorient and evades. 

However, LC is not required to evade under these circumstances, so if unit C is LC, however disagreeable it may be, the HC is blocked by an obstacle and therefore is trapped, cannot move and is charged on the flank. 


Thank you.


It doesn't say you need to wheel - 'Evade procedure step 1; unit 1 is charged on its flank so makes a quarter turn to face right'

I feel the 'trapping' of a highly mobile unit such as cavalry is a rather dubious rule especially light horse which have no fixed formation and can simply melt away in any direction and reform. But it is a game and not a simulation after all.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Mai 21, 2025 3:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As you say, this is a game, not a simulation and as such many of the mechanics are at best an abstraction. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1616
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 5:27 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Hi Guys,

Consider the following:



Unit A - charging MS
Unit B - MS
Unit C - LI
Unit 1 - Heavy cavalry

Unit A charges Unit 1 in the flank

Unit 1 wants to evade.

Evade procedure step 1; unit 1 is charged on its flank so makes a quarter turn to face right.

However, there is no room as the base is wider than it is deep (40 x 30mm) due to the LI.

What happens?

The evade is not 'blocked' as per stage 2 as neither of these apply (they are both after the initial reorientation).

Under step 5 'Evade Movement' it states:

If a LI would be contacted in open terrain by an evading enemy heavy troop, the LI must itself try to evade. If LI is contacted by that enemy it is Routed (seep 62) and the enemy stops. If the LI is in rough or difficult terrain it does not evade and is an obstacle for the evading enemy.


However, this is step 5 and we have not even got past step 1.

The 'spirit of the rule' would suggest the LI has to evade (although in what direction it would evade is a question).

To throw in a supplementary question; what happens if the LI is LH instead of LI?

Andy


The problem is easily solved by regarding the “LI contacted by an evading enemy must evade†bullet point as simply a bullet point in the evade rules that covers what happens to LI in this situation, not as “step 5†of a sequence of events in the charge/evade process all of which must be completed sequentially. 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 87
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 7:30 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:

The problem is easily solved by regarding the “LI contacted by an evading enemy must evade†bullet point as simply a bullet point in the evade rules that covers what happens to LI in this situation, not as “step 5†of a sequence of events in the charge/evade process all of which must be completed sequentially. 


I agree Tim but it is written as a step-by-step procedure. An errata entry would be appreciated just to make it clear.

I also wonder what would happen if the owner of the heavy cavalry had chosen to base their models on 40mm x 40mm bases. These could not therefore be 'blocked' by say LH.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1243
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 12:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy, I think we all agree that the step by step approach merely ensures that players move the unit(s) correctly. The LI would also have to evade if contacted at the end of the HC evade move rather than the start. Consequently I am not sure an errata is needed. 

The question of cavalry base sizes has been debated ever since the rules were originally formulated. Various thoughts have been presented, but quite frankly I can’t recall any though I suspect it could be a hang-over from other earlier rules. 

Yes it may seem annoying though it is also quite rare, and when all said and done ADLG is still just a game, not an attempt at an accurate simulation. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4813
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 2:00 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Solution is in interpenetration rules....
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1616
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 3:06 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
Solution is in interpenetration rules....


That was my first thought too ….  

… but looking more carefully the LI is an enemy to the evading HCv. And you can’t interpenetrate an enemy LI  Wink
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1616
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Jeu Mai 22, 2025 3:13 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:

The problem is easily solved by regarding the “LI contacted by an evading enemy must evade†bullet point as simply a bullet point in the evade rules that covers what happens to LI in this situation, not as “step 5†of a sequence of events in the charge/evade process all of which must be completed sequentially. 


I agree Tim but it is written as a step-by-step procedure. An errata entry would be appreciated just to make it clear.

I also wonder what would happen if the owner of the heavy cavalry had chosen to base their models on 40mm x 40mm bases. These could not therefore be 'blocked' by say LH.

Andy


I think you’re over-thinking this a little…. If you choose not to read it as a step by step procedure then it all makes more sense, and also avoids a problem for both players. 


 And after all, bullet points do tend to come one after another whether they are being used to articulate a step by step procedure or not  - that’s fundamental to what they are really.  Wink

As for 40x40 basing, I’d be equally relaxed about it as well - if it helps both players avoid a possible geometric problem, that’s all good in my book. 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 756
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Lun Mai 26, 2025 3:07 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Follow up query from tournament game at weekend.


Friendly unit C is between two enemy units A and B, and advanced about 1/2 UD past their front edges (not shown are current frontal melee opponents of A and B). On its next turn unit C would be able to turn on the flank of either A or B. However enemy LI D is moved to the position shown.

Unit C cannot wheel to charge as insufficient room. If it turn 90 degrees it doesn't have room to conform to either enemy flank edge due to the presence of LI D.

Do the LI move away because contacted by an enemy unit doing a conform?

If not are the only options
1. Charge the LI and have to pursue at least 1UD (2UD if unit C was mounted), or
2. Turn 90 degrees and do a partial conform that doesn't count as a flank charge, or
3. Stay in place


Dernière édition par AlanCutner le Lun Mai 26, 2025 6:31 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum