Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 91
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 03, 2025 10:14 pm Sujet du message: Impetuous units and ambushes |
|
Hi Guys,
A situation arose in a game tonight.
There is an ambush marker in a field 2 UDs in front of a unit consisting of three LI in a line in front of three impetuous medium sword in a line.
The group is moved straight ahead to see if the ambush is real.
It is (a single LI is placed on the front of the ambush marker).
The discovering group can now move no further.
However, it has only advanced 1 UD which is therefore a short move for unmanoeuvreable troops.
How much does this movement cost; 1 CP or 2 CPs?
What happens if the moving player only has 1 CP left?
Andy |
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 670
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 03, 2025 11:14 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I think it’s only 1. They moved forward as far as they could. |
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 324
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 1:20 am Sujet du message: |
|
It's a weird one. The rules discuss a "unit" so their application to a group has to be extrapolated.
But it's still a problem with a single unit. Suppose a single impetuous med sword unit advances 1 UD and triggers the ambush? It hasn't moved its full allowance and it hasn't made contact with the enemy. This means you do not know the CP cost until the move has been made, so you have to check the possible outcomes against the remaining CP balance.... This is not unprecedented as you must look at all possibilities when considering whether an impetuous unit is excepted from an uncontrolled charge by the possible evasion of its target. But there's no CP cost in that case.
Perhaps triggering an ambush is similar enough to ending in contact that the rule should be extended to encompass that.
You can get into similar situations with an unmaneuverable group charging an evasion-capable enemy if the terrain beyond the enemy is problematic. |
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1673
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 2:15 am Sujet du message: |
|
What Kevin said. |
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 91
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 7:00 am Sujet du message: |
|
Hazelbark a écrit: | What Kevin said. |
Thank you guys.
1 CP is also what I said. |
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 324
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 04, 2025 4:46 pm Sujet du message: |
|
1 CP seems reasonable, but I don't see how you can get there without amendment. The infamous half my impetuous foot group is in the operational zone, the other half in the tactical zone is also moving as far as it can. Still has to pay 2CP. The difference is that you know a priori that not all units will move their full distance, while with an undeployed ambush (or evading enemy) you do not know until the outcome.
But you have to put that in the rules. |
|