Auteur |
Message |
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:06 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I trust you will explain the error of their ways.  |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Zoltan
Légat
Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015 Messages: 509
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:13 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Yes Lionel's explanation (using Google Translate) was very helpful, thank you.
I think the hang-up some of us have been having is that the plain reading of the English of bullet 3 on p.66 DOES appear to link a roll to stop looting to an intention to give (CP consuming) orders:
If you want to give orders to a looter, first successfully role for it to stop looting.
We now have this "state" of an ex-looter sitting in touch with the looted camp, perhaps for several turns because no orders are issued. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 336
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:25 pm Sujet du message: |
|
The problem is here:
Pour chaque unité en contact, on lance un dé et l'unité cesse le pillage sur 4+.
The (English translation of the) rules don't say this. They say looting continues if the roll fails. Thus we are stuck with the implication that some combination of roll and order stops looting.
Zoltan's simple, straightforward rewording is exactly what we would expect if the die roll stops the looting. Since the rules are instead convoluted the logical assumption is that they are implying something else - for example, that the order stops the looting, and the die roll may stop the order. Therefore the rules are inadequate and this should be rectified.
BTW please make sure to say either:
on doit lancer un dé
or
on peut lancer un dé
when you issue the ruling. There are tactical reasons one might want to keep looting. (Since I assume you cannot be shot at.)
Dernière édition par Neep le Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:50 pm; édité 3 fois |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 387
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:26 pm Sujet du message: |
|
To my mind the most significant impact of playing it this way is that a unit in contact with a camp can, without expending any CP, be no longer looting.
So if charged it may evade or if it stands it will not take a cohesion hit from fighting in multiple directions. Makes sacking a camp less dangerous.
It a decent number of cases it seemed to me to be trading two units lost (the camp) for a single unit lost (the sacker) |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 336
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 10:31 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I don't think that's right, Steve. The unit cannot evade as the looted camp is impassible. Nor is it subject to multiple attack (by one attacker) as the camp never attacks, just "defends". |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 387
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 11:03 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Neep a écrit: | I don't think that's right, Steve. The unit cannot evade as the looted camp is impassible. Nor is it subject to multiple attack (by one attacker) as the camp never attacks, just "defends". |
You may be right about the multiple attack - page 66 4th bullet says "a unit looting a camp is considered in melee.." however the V3 rules were explicit and under fortified camps it says if you are attacked "the attack on the camp ceases"
However evasion is easy. If you are on the side of the camp for example and charged on your flank you can evade off the table. Useful if you are a LH with one cohesion left.
Or if charged on the rear you can slide 1 UD to run along the side of the camp.
Unless, of course, I have been playing evasion wrong all these years and an evasion slide in step 2 is only possible to avoid impassible terrain and not units which cannot be interpenetrated. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 336
|
Posté le: Jeu Juil 24, 2025 11:09 pm Sujet du message: |
|
A camp can be 1-2UD on one side and 2-3 on the other. But you are right, often you could evade. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 96
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 25, 2025 8:07 am Sujet du message: |
|
SteveR a écrit: | To my mind the most significant impact of playing it this way is that a unit in contact with a camp can, without expending any CP, be no longer looting.
So if charged it may evade or if it stands it will not take a cohesion hit from fighting in multiple directions. Makes sacking a camp less dangerous.
It a decent number of cases it seemed to me to be trading two units lost (the camp) for a single unit lost (the sacker) |
p66 many bullets down:
"The camp does not provide support in melee and cannot be part of a multiple attack" |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 96
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 25, 2025 8:12 am Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | I trust you will explain the error of their ways.  |
Is this going to be added to the errata? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 25, 2025 10:06 am Sujet du message: |
|
Andy Fyfe a écrit: | Ramses II a écrit: | I trust you will explain the error of their ways.  |
Is this going to be added to the errata? |
Probably not, because this is really about a misunderstanding of the plain text around the test to stop looting and subsequent issue of orders. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 682
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 25, 2025 1:05 pm Sujet du message: |
|
If I had a vote, I would vote to include this in the errata because, as this thread shows, there is a lot of uncertainty over this issue.
Maybe not an errata per se, but certainly something that is ambiguous. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 336
|
Posté le: Ven Juil 25, 2025 2:59 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Over on the Facebook group, there is a question about whether you can target LI in front of heavy troops and avoid continuing the charge into the heavies beyond the minimum charge distance. This is plainly in the rules but apparently confused both a player and the referee.
May I gently suggest more attention to polishing the sticking points, both large and small, might encourage more trust that they mean what they say. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Zoltan
Légat
Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015 Messages: 509
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
|
Posté le: Sam Juil 26, 2025 2:23 am Sujet du message: |
|
Following up on (the Google Translate version of) part of Lionel's earlier reply:
"Therefore, on the turn following the pillaging of the camp, which occurs as soon as a unit contacts it, the following procedure applies:
For each unit in contact, a die is rolled, and the unit stops pillaging on a 4+."
1. Is it compulsory for every looting unit to dice to stop looting at the first available opportunity?
2. Why would you want to test for a unit to stop looting if you were NOT then going to give it an order?
- simply to "bank" non-looting units to preserve flexibility to giving them an order in a future turn?
- perhaps the Commander has insufficient CP this turn (apropos Kevin's OP)? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 336
|
Posté le: Sam Juil 26, 2025 3:05 am Sujet du message: |
|
Note that it's Lionel's post, but Hubert's words.
Certainly, if you anticipate moving the looters next turn, you want to roll this turn - it's the difference between 50% and 75% availability.
If your heavy troop looter has one hit left, and there are enemy missile LI hovering about, you might want to remain looting. The LI cannot melee you, but might collect points shooting you. Which presumably they cannot do when you are "in melee" looting. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1259
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Sam Juil 26, 2025 12:07 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Spot on Zoltan. Stopping a unit from looting prepares it to act some time later in this turn or the next. As Neep says, there may be reasons why you may want to continue looting.Â
The DT has given an official answer.Â
What more do you need ??? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|