Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Incomplete conformation or invalid flank contact?
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Orlando Almeida
Centurion


Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016
Messages: 483
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 7:27 am    Sujet du message: Incomplete conformation or invalid flank contact? Répondre en citant
Hello,

On this situation, cavalry A is clearly not on the flank o Bowmen B.
But Since Bowmen B isn't giving any kind of support, his frontal isn't commited neither in support neither in mélée.




The question is: can cavalry A, make a 90º turn and charge B?

The option I see are:
A) YES he can since he's reaching the frontal corner of Bowmen B (the front of the unit isn't either involved in melée or melée support), then since the cavalry won't be able to conform (Bowmen will conform on its turn), we'll have a frontal combat with incomplete conformation
B) NO the cavalry A is contacting the flank of Bowmen B and it didn't started in a position where it was already threatening the opponent's flank.

Which one is correct?

Thanks for the answers!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 8:47 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4845
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 3:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). 


correct
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1697
MessagePosté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 4:53 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). 


correct


agreed
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Orlando Almeida
Centurion


Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016
Messages: 483
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 7:44 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Thank you all for your feedback.

So please confirm, then this awkward situation may really occur
It’s the red player phase, player wants to stall for one 1 round, avoiding a charge on the bowmen.

Does it get a free Jail card, turning 90º hence disabling the possibility for the yellow A cavalry to charge the bowmen on the next yellow phase?


Am I missing something?

Thank you
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1697
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 12:20 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
You are correct, the bow cannot be charged in the flank.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1650
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 1:24 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Orlando Almeida a écrit:
Thank you all for your feedback.

So please confirm, then this awkward situation may really occur
It’s the red player phase, player wants to stall for one 1 round, avoiding a charge on the bowmen.

Does it get a free Jail card, turning 90º hence disabling the possibility for the yellow A cavalry to charge the bowmen on the next yellow phase?


Am I missing something?

Thank you


The only thing you are missing would be the resulting Paddington Bear Hard Stares of Disapproval from an opponent, and I would hope everyone else in the tournament, that would be directed toward anyone attempting such a move deliberately*



(*if it happens by accident, fair enough)
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 352
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 4:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
How did A get there anyway?
Move A into support - win the melee - pursue into the bow front and flank gaining a cohesion hit...
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 5:02 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I tend to agree with Neep here.  In Red’s turn, the bow could slide along the flank of the enemy cavalry (see p41) and conform into melee support. This means that
  • A still cannot charge the flank of the bowmen  
  • Red is more likely to win the melee given three rounds of supported melee (Red, enemy moving into position, Red again)
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Orlando Almeida
Centurion


Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016
Messages: 483
MessagePosté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 7:29 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Once again, thanks for the feedback.

You don't need to dig in the situation hitself. I placed in purpose a "bend the rules" example to be sure I was getting this right 100% on my mind.

My goal was getting the logic right as an umpair

Really glad on having your support for the community
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum