Auteur |
Message |
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Lun Aoû 04, 2025 4:42 am Sujet du message: Sliding while charging |
|
I'm trying to understand page 36 second bullet and its erratum vis-Ã -vis page 43 4 bullets 1 and 2.
A charging unit may slide at the beginning of its charge, and may slide once in the ZoC of the MTE, correct?
Can it do both, or is it one or the other? (It looks like only one to me.)
Or does the erratum reject the notion of sliding within the ZoC when charging?
My particular concern is uncontrolled charges with a rank of impetuous troops where a unit must slide to reach its target, but an initial slide will cause it to burst through its neighbor. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Lun Aoû 04, 2025 8:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I do not fully grok your question.
A charging unit may slide.
A slide in the ZOC of a MTE can only occur to the extent the ZOC rules are not violated. For example the front base does not slide out of the ZOC among other conditions.
The above two are the same single slide.
What i think you are conflating, but unsure. The FAQ is clarifying that you cannot slide into a melee contact, if you were not normally allowed to get there via a movement. People were taking excess leeway with the 1 UD gain to get into melee when they could not legally charge there.
So an impetuous unit can only make a legal charge. That can include only one slide in total. Uncontrolled charges travel by shortest route.
Not sure this addresses your point, but FWIW. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Lun Aoû 04, 2025 10:17 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Appreciate the reply.
Page 43 seems to restrict charges to an initial slide (or alternatives) and then straight ahead advance.
Page 36 seems to allow a charge to slide within the MTE's ZoC to ensure making contact.
I'm trying to reconcile the two. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Mar Aoû 05, 2025 2:59 am Sujet du message: |
|
Imagine being in a ZOC from an angle. Without the slide you would try to charge straight and miss the MTE. So you may slide deeper into the ZOC to charge. Perhaps some other reason why you cannot wheel. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Mar Aoû 05, 2025 3:06 am Sujet du message: |
|
Are you suggesting that page 36 is referring to an initial slide? I.e. the charge is starting in the ZoC? |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Mar Aoû 05, 2025 3:54 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Neep a écrit: | Are you suggesting that page 36 is referring to an initial slide? I.e. the charge is starting in the ZoC? |
I am suggesting you are unclear on what you are asking. So i am explaining rules.
If by page 36, 2nd bullet yes that would be an example.
If you mean charges. You may only slide at the start.
If you mean moves, then yes a slide could be during the move.
In both cases you must adhere to ZOC rules. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Dickstick
Tribun
Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016 Messages: 732
Localisation: West Bromwich
|
Posté le: Mar Aoû 05, 2025 4:26 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Is your second slide a conform move? _________________ Player 747 don't call me Jumbo |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Mar Aoû 05, 2025 8:30 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I'm not sure where the disconnect is happening. I'm seeing my question as clear and simple...
Page 36 suggests you can use a slide within the most threatening enemy's zone of control to make sure you strike the enemy, rather than, say, zip on past it. (And of course zipping on past is not legal.)
Is this introducing a new concept, or is it simply making the very mundane and out of place suggestion that you can line up your target by correctly using the initial slide permitted charging units?
Say you charge at an angle, skirting a woods or an ongoing melee or a friendly unit and enter the ZoC of your MTE. But at such an angle that you will not strike them. Can you slide 5mm to the left in order to hit?
(In the larger picture, I'm thinking that some simple geometric tricks can force the units of an opposing impetuous group into having to burst through neighbors to reach their target. And why I'm uncertain Hervé's recent suggestion[?] that impetuous moves into support positions must be charges is a sound idea.) |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Mer Aoû 06, 2025 2:07 am Sujet du message: |
|
Neep a écrit: | I'm not sure where the disconnect is happening. I'm seeing my question as clear and simple... |
Well...no, but there is hope.
Neep a écrit: | Page 36 suggests you can use a slide within the most threatening enemy's zone of control to make sure you strike the enemy, rather than, say, zip on past it. (And of course zipping on past is not legal.)
Is this introducing a new concept, or is it simply making the very mundane and out of place suggestion that you can line up your target by correctly using the initial slide permitted charging units?
Say you charge at an angle, skirting a woods or an ongoing melee or a friendly unit and enter the ZoC of your MTE. But at such an angle that you will not strike them. Can you slide 5mm to the left in order to hit? |
No. It is a mundane point to over stitch a problem. I.E Over explain. It addresses other matters.
Neep a écrit: | (In the larger picture, I'm thinking that some simple geometric tricks can force the units of an opposing impetuous group into having to burst through neighbors to reach their target. And why I'm uncertain Hervé's recent suggestion[?] that impetuous moves into support positions must be charges is a sound idea.) |
I would caution against expending such energy as when you play you will find the opportunities for such chicanery very limited.
Additionally...
Impetuous troops could always make an uncontrolled charge to a support position.
Further.>>
By all means if you find a geometric ploy, unveil it at a tournament. If it is assessed as meaningful, we will get an errata to stitch it out of existence. What distinguishes El Kreator from others is he perfectly willing to correct a problem. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Zoltan
Légat
Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015 Messages: 513
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
|
Posté le: Mer Aoû 06, 2025 7:19 am Sujet du message: |
|
The p.43 charge rules provide the general, and most frequently encountered, case during a game. Generally, charges are mostly declared by units that start outside an opponent’s ZoC.
The p.36 errata deals with the (less common) specific case of a charger starting within an opponent’s ZoC. The errata says:
When within an MTE’s ZoC, TO BECOME MORE ALIGNED WITH that MTE before charging, a charging unit may wheel, turn or slide.
Quite simply, the p.36 charge rules (chargers starting within a ZoC) over-ride the p.43 general case rules. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Ven Aoû 08, 2025 6:14 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ok, so it was simple!-)
My background is in hex-based board wargames. Usually, the rules are axiom based with separate examples of play to illustrate the subtler interactions. So whenever I see a redundant rule (as here) I try to extract meaning from it. I would guess that might be what's going on in the "shooting at a commander's unit" thread.
I'm not trying to develop a "trick". Rather my intuition says restricting impetuous units to charging (rather than moving) into support positions is too burdensome, and I'm trying to find a convincing example to illustrate that. Uncontrolled charges are pretty programmatic, and fixed beyond the choice of left or right and the occasional equally distant targets, so determined by the defender's positioning. Then again, the impetuous player can always issue an ordered group charge. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|