Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Commander in ambush
Page 3 sur 4 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
hcaille
Administrateur


Inscrit le: 20 Mai 2008
Messages: 2559
Localisation: Lyon
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 5:27 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Hello

To resolve this situation, I propose that :

Where a commander controls units that are visible on the table, the commander must also be visible on the table (so may not be placed in ambush).

It will simplify the situation.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Envoyer un e-mail Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 451
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 11:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Simple solution. Thanks. Far better than ignoring it.
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 2:20 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
And so to reframe the original question that started this thread.

All units of a corps start the game hidden within two ambushes A and B. The corps commander is included in ambush A. For example, this might be two ambushes one each in two nearby woods.

Ambush B is revealed and its units placed on table. How is the measurement made to ascertain that the units deployed in ambush B are within command range of the commander still hidden within ambush A?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 451
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 2:47 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Centre of ambush marker A?
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 736
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 4:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Do we ever measure from the centre of anything?
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1673
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 5:25 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
And so to reframe the original question that started this thread.

All units of a corps start the game hidden within two ambushes A and B. The corps commander is included in ambush A. For example, this might be two ambushes one each in two nearby woods.

Ambush B is revealed and its units placed on table. How is the measurement made to ascertain that the units deployed in ambush B are within command range of the commander still hidden within ambush A?


Whatever the umpire in this now wildly hypothetical and unlikely game decides? 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 711
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 06, 2025 7:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Troops in ambush need not be in command range.

Obviously this can’t mean when they are revealed they have to be in ambush or the whole rule could be negated.

If the commander is still in ambush I’d suppose they pay the out of command penalty if they try to move, but this does not stop them from being revealed and placed on the table.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 08, 2025 5:56 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
And so to reframe the original question that started this thread.

All units of a corps start the game hidden within two ambushes A and B. The corps commander is included in ambush A. For example, this might be two ambushes one each in two nearby woods.

Ambush B is revealed and its units placed on table. How is the measurement made to ascertain that the units deployed in ambush B are within command range of the commander still hidden within ambush A?

KevinD a écrit:
Troops in ambush need not be in command range.


If the commander is still in ambush I’d suppose they pay the out of command penalty if they try to move, but this does not stop them from being revealed and placed on the table.

As Tim says, this is getting wildly hypothetical. There are a number of equally creative solutions like Kevin’s that could be applied in this increasingly obtuse situation. Please pick one, agree with your opponent and move on. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 08, 2025 6:41 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
@Ramses - it is not “wildly hypothetical†to place a (non CinC) commander in ambush (with some troops).

The effect of your recommendation is: if a commander is placed in ambush, ALL units of his corps MUST also be placed in ambush.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 370
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 08, 2025 7:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Kevin's solution looks to me like a straightforward interpretation of the existing rules structure.
An awful lot of digital signal is being expended on this small point. I would love to see some discussion of other recent questions, like the stay in support/charge something dilemma.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 08, 2025 8:15 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses - it is not “wildly hypothetical†to place a (non CinC) commander in ambush (with some troops). The effect of your recommendation is: if a commander is placed in ambush, ALL units of his corps MUST also be placed in ambush.
Yes that is true, it is also simple and clear. 

You are implying that, where a corps including its commander is placed in two ambushes, the player may desire to reveal only the ambush without the commander, and that this would impose some significant disadvantage - for example as Kevin suggests they could be considered to be out of control. 

The easiest solution would be to reveal both ambushes together; I find it hard to believe that doing this would have a hugely detrimental effect over revealing a single ambush. 

What are we missing??
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1673
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 08, 2025 8:38 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses - it is not “wildly hypothetical†to place a (non CinC) commander in ambush (with some troops).

The effect of your recommendation is: if a commander is placed in ambush, ALL units of his corps MUST also be placed in ambush.


I have never seen this happen in all my time playing ADLG.
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 122
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 09, 2025 7:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses - it is not “wildly hypothetical†to place a (non CinC) commander in ambush (with some troops).

The effect of your recommendation is: if a commander is placed in ambush, ALL units of his corps MUST also be placed in ambush.


I have never seen this happen in all my time playing ADLG.


It happened on Tuesday in my Codgers game Tim.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1673
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 09, 2025 10:59 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses - it is not “wildly hypothetical†to place a (non CinC) commander in ambush (with some troops).

The effect of your recommendation is: if a commander is placed in ambush, ALL units of his corps MUST also be placed in ambush.


I have never seen this happen in all my time playing ADLG.


It happened on Tuesday in my Codgers game Tim.

Andy


Herve has now stated that placing a Commander in Ambush and leaving some of his troops visible on table is no longer allowed..

Makes things easier I guess!
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 451
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 09, 2025 11:42 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
Herve has now stated that placing a Commander in Ambush and leaving some of his troops visible on table is no longer allowed..

Makes things easier I guess!


Link please and will this end up in the Errata?
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 3 sur 4 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum