Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Loss of the camp
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 23, 2025 12:50 pm    Sujet du message: Loss of the camp Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

I think this came up at Codgers this year but I did not hear directly and wanted to check.

When does the loss of a camp count towards army rout?

I thought it counted immediately like the loss of any unit; however, I have heard that it does not count until the end of the turn. So if time is called before turn end then the loss is not counted (this would only be in the UK where a 'dice-down' end of game approach is the usual).

The wording under 'Unfortified camp' on p66 would support that is counts immediately:

If an unfortified camp is attacked in melee by an enemy unit it is automatically lost and looted.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 23, 2025 3:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Hi Guys,

I think this came up at Codgers this year but I did not hear directly and wanted to check.

When does the loss of a camp count towards army rout?

I thought it counted immediately like the loss of any unit; however, I have heard that it does not count until the end of the turn. So if time is called before turn end then the loss is not counted (this would only be in the UK where a 'dice-down' end of game approach is the usual).

The wording under 'Unfortified camp' on p66 would support that is counts immediately:

If an unfortified camp is attacked in melee by an enemy unit it is automatically lost and looted.

Andy


Normally the game continued to the end of the (or "a") turn, so all combats and outcomes are totted up and "army break"for both sides is assessed at the end of the turn.

"dice down" is a UK convention, so isn't covered by the RAW.

It does however seem fair that a camp that has been contacted (if unfortified) and/or captured (ie contacted and then also rolled for succesfully if fortified) by the enemy at the time of the "dice down" call should count as "lost".

Anything else and the rules cart would be very much driving the common sense horse...
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Hazelbark
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014
Messages: 1709
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 23, 2025 3:56 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Anything less than counting all losses after dice down, perverts dice down into a gamey tactic even worse than it is.

Imagine
I know i am broken because of a 1-6 melee roll, but i spend 10 minutes deciding which of the remaining combats i want to roll first and whether to put my general into combat.

Dice down. I am not broken.

This would be insane even by old Reigate Dice Down Gamey Muppetry. I doubt this is how it would be adjudicated.


There are many different solutions to needing to stay on schedule than dice down but people have their preferences.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 23, 2025 4:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Hi Guys,

I think this came up at Codgers this year but I did not hear directly and wanted to check.

When does the loss of a camp count towards army rout?

I thought it counted immediately like the loss of any unit; however, I have heard that it does not count until the end of the turn. So if time is called before turn end then the loss is not counted (this would only be in the UK where a 'dice-down' end of game approach is the usual).

The wording under 'Unfortified camp' on p66 would support that is counts immediately:

If an unfortified camp is attacked in melee by an enemy unit it is automatically lost and looted.

Andy


Normally the game continued to the end of the (or "a") turn, so all combats and outcomes are totted up and "army break"for both sides is assessed at the end of the turn.

"dice down" is a UK convention, so isn't covered by the RAW.

It does however seem fair that a camp that has been contacted (if unfortified) and/or captured (ie contacted and then also rolled for succesfully if fortified) by the enemy at the time of the "dice down" call should count as "lost".

Anything else and the rules cart would be very much driving the common sense horse...


Hi Tim,

I agree; it seems the only logical way.

IIRC it was Mike Bennett at Codgers who had been told that his taking of the camp didn't count because they had not reached the end of that turn.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Mike Bennett
Légat


Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017
Messages: 600
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 7:43 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


Hi Tim,

I agree; it seems the only logical way.

IIRC it was Mike Bennett at Codgers who had been told that his taking of the camp didn't count because they had not reached the end of that turn.


The ruling was that I had not got it as it is destroyed in melee and time was called whilst I was still in moving phase. I would have won if I had ceased all movement as soon as I hit the camp, gone straight to shooting and then started the melee phase.

So it was the start of melee phase which was key, not the end of the turn.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 8:10 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Mike Bennett a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


Hi Tim,

I agree; it seems the only logical way.

IIRC it was Mike Bennett at Codgers who had been told that his taking of the camp didn't count because they had not reached the end of that turn.


The ruling was that I had not got it as it is destroyed in melee and time was called whilst I was still in moving phase. I would have won if I had ceased all movement as soon as I hit the camp, gone straight to shooting and then started the melee phase.

So it was the start of melee phase which was key, not the end of the turn.


Understood Mike - unlucky!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 524
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 8:34 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 9:07 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 524
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 9:23 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.


And similarly, if during the shooting phase the final cohesion hit was inflicted to rout a unit, but dice down was called before the melee phase - no rout!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Three
Prétorien


Inscrit le: 20 Déc 2017
Messages: 223
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 11:09 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
What utter nonsense.
If time/dice down is called then losses as they stand are counted up and the result is then determined, not back counted to the start of the current phase.
Anything else is unfair to both players.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 5:01 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Three a écrit:
What utter nonsense.
If time/dice down is called then losses as they stand are counted up and the result is then determined, not back counted to the start of the current phase.
Anything else is unfair to both players.


I think this might need to be made clear at the start of the competition.

All loses incurred during the last turn will be counted even if the required phase has not been reached.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 524
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 24, 2025 5:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
P.69 Army Rout states: "At the end of each player's sequence, a check is made to verify whether one or both armies are routed."

Event organisers who use the "dice down" approach are arbitrarily cutting the phasing player's sequence short (to manage event time). This hard-stop should still count as the end of a sequence, and the losses be tallied in full to determine whether or not any armies are broken at that point.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 25, 2025 10:39 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Mike Bennett a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:


Hi Tim,

I agree; it seems the only logical way.

IIRC it was Mike Bennett at Codgers who had been told that his taking of the camp didn't count because they had not reached the end of that turn.


The ruling was that I had not got it as it is destroyed in melee and time was called whilst I was still in moving phase. I would have won if I had ceased all movement as soon as I hit the camp, gone straight to shooting and then started the melee phase.

So it was the start of melee phase which was key, not the end of the turn.


Understood Mike - unlucky!


Looking at the RAW more carefully, I may have gotten this one wrong - although there is some genuine ambiguity here to think through.

p66 - "If an unfortified camp is attacked in melee by an enemy unit it is automatically lost and looted" is the operative rules reference.

I guess it's whether we consider that an enemy moving into melee with the camp (aka "attacked") or being in the subsequent melee phase (aka "in melee") is the thing that causes the loss of the camp according to the RAW.

In retrospect I am more leaning towards the "attacked" being the trigger for loss... although to be fair this is the first time I'm aware of this happening in all my time running events !

Either way, "dice down" means everything stops and losses are added up at that exact point in time - no going forwards or backwards.

Hitting someone on two sides causes an "immediate" cohesion loss (p61) in the phase it is contacted by the enemy, so that type of loss absolutely happens in the movement phase - it's only unfortified camps that have this slight ambiguity around them.
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 25, 2025 10:41 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.


This is incorrect Andy - multiple attacks trigger immediate cohesion losses.
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 25, 2025 10:43 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Three a écrit:
What utter nonsense.
If time/dice down is called then losses as they stand are counted up and the result is then determined, not back counted to the start of the current phase.
Anything else is unfair to both players.


What you have described is exactly what happens - the issue here is that Mike B has now uncovered a degree of previously unforseen ambiguity over the timing of the loss of a contacted, unfortified camp.
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 2 Aller à la page 1, 2  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum