Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Loss of the camp
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 25, 2025 10:45 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
And similarly, if during the shooting phase the final cohesion hit was inflicted to rout a unit, but dice down was called before the melee phase - no rout!


Nope, units who are routed at the call of Dice Down are counted as routed.
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 25, 2025 5:09 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
OK, a few hours of gentle cogitation with Kev (as between us we run the scocing for a big chunk of the UK event circuit), and we think there is only the one grey area, which is around camps and the timing of when they are "lost".

The answer (aka how we will both rule it going forward) is as follows:

Undefended camps count as "lost" when contacted, i.e. in the movement phase. Therefore if an enemy is in contact with your undefended camp when "Dice Down" is called, it's lost.

A fortified camp contacted by the enemy must be rolled for to be lost. This roll takes place in the melee phase, so if the dice roll for this "melee" hasn't been resolved when "dice down" is called, the camp survives - much the same as any other melee that hasn't happened yet.


All other losses occur immediately, so the status at dice down in regard to anything other than camps we believe is already clear. *

(* but this isn't meant as a challenge for any of you to try and Barkerese another exception out of the rulebook please...)
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Longtooth
Signifer


Inscrit le: 14 Oct 2014
Messages: 361
Localisation: Oxford
MessagePosté le: Dim Oct 26, 2025 12:16 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
....sounds fair and reasonable.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
SteveR
Signifer


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018
Messages: 398
MessagePosté le: Dim Oct 26, 2025 4:19 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
[quote=Nope, units who are routed at the call of Dice Down are counted as routed.[/quote]

Okay this entire thread is not a rules question - it is a "dice down" question. Dice down is not in the rules (nor is the "ending at the end of a defender's turn" which is at least spared this type of "when do things actually happen" issue) so you can play it as you wish of course, and all players subject to it can hope for is consistency.

But I have an honest question here. If a unit which receives its final cohesion before dice down is counted as lost, even though the Rout and Pursuit phase has not been entered, does it still have a "Zone of Death"? Do you count one part of the rout but not the other from the same phase? Which you may have not even reached yet if you call it in the movement or shooting or if the melee phase is not yet complete.

You in inherently already deep into the splitting hairs zone using this process no matter what the intent. So I am just wondering how you play it. ( I assume no ZOD because if it were an elephant you would need a dice to roll and the dice are down)

The Britcon page just says "When time is called there will be a 'hard stop' to the games - put the dice down, and work out the result."
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Dim Oct 26, 2025 5:55 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.


This is incorrect Andy - multiple attacks trigger immediate cohesion losses.


Except where the enemy unit routs as a result of the multiple attack cohesion loss. This is not removed immediately.

It is removed at the end of the melee phase.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 455
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Dim Oct 26, 2025 6:49 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
More quiet cogitation?
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 27, 2025 4:29 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
SteveR a écrit:
[quote=Nope, units who are routed at the call of Dice Down are counted as routed.


Okay this entire thread is not a rules question - it is a "dice down" question. Dice down is not in the rules (nor is the "ending at the end of a defender's turn" which is at least spared this type of "when do things actually happen" issue) so you can play it as you wish of course, and all players subject to it can hope for is consistency.

But I have an honest question here. If a unit which receives its final cohesion before dice down is counted as lost, even though the Rout and Pursuit phase has not been entered, does it still have a "Zone of Death"? Do you count one part of the rout but not the other from the same phase? Which you may have not even reached yet if you call it in the movement or shooting or if the melee phase is not yet complete.

You in inherently already deep into the splitting hairs zone using this process no matter what the intent. So I am just wondering how you play it. ( I assume no ZOD because if it were an elephant you would need a dice to roll and the dice are down)

The Britcon page just says "When time is called there will be a 'hard stop' to the games - put the dice down, and work out the result."[/quote]

If you’re dead, you’re dead and everyone behind takes a hit. That’s the way everyone I know plays it. 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1684
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 27, 2025 4:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.


This is incorrect Andy - multiple attacks trigger immediate cohesion losses.


Except where the enemy unit routs as a result of the multiple attack cohesion loss. This is not removed immediately.

It is removed at the end of the melee phase.


The unit is left on table until after the melee phase, but it’s still dead the moment it takes as many losses as its cohesion level…. 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 129
MessagePosté le: Lun Oct 27, 2025 5:07 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
madaxeman a écrit:
Andy Fyfe a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
So if during Mike’s Movement Phase his battle unit had contacted an enemy on its side edge and immediately inflicted the final cohesion hit required to rout it (enemy already fighting in melee on its front edge), would that be ruled “no rout†if dice down was called prior to the Melee Phase?


That sounds like what they would call.

I don't agree with it.


This is incorrect Andy - multiple attacks trigger immediate cohesion losses.


Except where the enemy unit routs as a result of the multiple attack cohesion loss. This is not removed immediately.

It is removed at the end of the melee phase.


The unit is left on table until after the melee phase, but it’s still dead the moment it takes as many losses as its cohesion level…. 


I mentioned this example because I have seen it not count in army cohesion loss in previous competitions.

I agree that this is a 'Dice down' question rather than a unit / camp loss question.

If we are going to continue using dice down in the uk then there needs to be a published list of what does and does not count, what is carried out and what is not carried out.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 2 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum