Auteur |
Message |
Mike Bennett
Légat
Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017 Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 5:52 pm Sujet du message: |
|
KevinD a écrit: | Mike Bennett a écrit: | Is the light foot in terrain? In the open they must evade and so do not count as the primary target. |
They don’t have to count as the target of a charge but they may. “Heavy troops can choose a target beyond enemy LI…†This does not say they can’t choose the LI as the target. However, uncontrolled troops don’t have this choice. Their target must be the closest enemy. In this case that is the LI, in which case there is no uncontrolled charge. If the nearest enemy of an uncontrolled charge is not a valid target, you do not make the uncontrolled charge. You don’t go looking for another target. |
Have you seen these clarifications, source “ Patrick LEFEBVRE / Répertoire cas concret /V1 finale†page 8, http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10389 which form the basis of my comment
Sorry cannot copy diagram across, but think this is clear?
Blue, blue, blue, all pike
Blue, blue, blue , all light foot
Red, red, all light foot
Red, red, all impetuous medium infantry
Les 2 MI Rouge sont impétueux . C’est la séquence de jeu du joueur Rouge. Les joueurs sont en désaccord sur un point et appellent l’arbitre:
• Bleu considère que les 2 MI Rouge sont en position de charge incontrôlée,
• au contraire Rouge estime qu’il est dans un cas d’exception à la charge incontrôlée : sa charge L’obligerait à interpénétrer les 2 LI Rouge alors Que la cible est constituée de troupes légères (les 3 LI Bleu) (voir p 46 : Charge incontrôlée /Exceptions à la charge incontrôlée / 7ème alinea)
Réponse :
Les 2 MI Rouge sont en position de charge incontrôlée et le cas d’exception de la page 46 ne peut pas être invoqué. En effet il est stipulé « qu’une unité impétueuse n’effectue pas de charge …si la charge oblige à interpénétrer ou passer en force à travers des troupes amies et que les sont uniquement des troupes légères. » Or les MI Rouge sont à portée de charge des 3 phalanges Bleu qui constitue une cible secondaire. La totalité des cibles n’étant pas constituées uniquement de troupes légères , les MI Rouge sont donc en position de charge incontrôlée .
Dernière édition par Mike Bennett le Mer Oct 16, 2024 9:17 pm; édité 3 fois |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mike Bennett
Légat
Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017 Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 6:26 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | I hope this does not confuse further.Â
[list=1][*]The enemy LI is the target of your charge, though you may declare the unit behind under certain provisos (pp43,46). |
There seems to be alternative argument current in France, see “Patrick LEFEBVRE / Répertoire cas concret /V1 finale, Repetoire de Cas Concrets d’Application de la Règleâ€. It is posted on the French forum by Herve and endorsed by Hubert http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10389
Ps it also covers evaders moving around terrain which is over 1ud away.
Dernière édition par Mike Bennett le Jeu Oct 17, 2024 5:40 am; édité 4 fois |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
SteveR
Signifer
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2018 Messages: 381
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 7:42 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | I hope this does not confuse further.Â
- The enemy LI is the target of your charge, though you may declare the unit behind under certain provisos (pp43,46).
- Your LI prevent your Medium Sword from being compelled to charge the enemy LI (p46, 7th bpt.)
- Once the impetuous unit charges it must move it’s maximum adjusted allowance in pursuit of the evading enemy LI (unless exempted as noted), and may end up contacting a secondary target behind (pp43,44).
|
Relax my friend, I don't think that it is possible for me to become more confused.
I had mentioned the ability to declare enemy behind LI as the target, but I don't necessarily think that applies since an involuntary charge cannot voluntarily choose a different target. Unless we go the route of the LI is an exception so instead you must charge the enemy MSw.
The problem with this is that there is a legal path to charge the LI. It's just not the shortest path under some circumstances.
In summary:
1. You must charge the nearest enemy directly in front of you. (page 45)
2. You must take the shortest path (page 45)
3. The shortest path allows for an exemption to charge (page 46)
but there is a longer path which allows the charge against the target. So charging is not impossible
I am having difficulty reconciling all of these rules/facts - especially in the case where the only target is an enemy LI and there is no enemy MSw |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 325
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 8:50 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Goodness Mike you might mention the document has just been posted in the French rules forum here!
If Patrick is quoting the rules verbatim, it appears there may be a translation error in the English rules. It seems the exception should read "If the target enemy units are only light infantry..."
And indeed, it would seem to close the case on the OQ - though it leaves open the shortest path at LI before El.
Dernière édition par Neep le Jeu Oct 17, 2024 1:55 pm; édité 2 fois |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mike Bennett
Légat
Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017 Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 9:29 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Neep a écrit: | Goodness Mike you might mention the document has just been posted in the French rules forum here! |
Thanks, I had forgotten were I found it. I have updated my posts with the url. As it comes from Herve, endorsed by Hubert, also, looks pretty official to me. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 673
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 10:52 pm Sujet du message: |
|
What a can of worms….
P 3 seems to imply that a unit in an enemy ZOC who exits the ZOC has a choice of going directly to its rear OR directly away from the threatening unit’s facing.
P 9 covers this case in this topic but turns on a word missing from the English rules.
P13 Evades and sliding to avoid difficult terrain seems wrong.
P 6 & P16 - the contradiction where striking the side and conforming to the front is allowed in P 16 during pursuit but not on P 6 in a charge is… interesting. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 325
|
Posté le: Mer Oct 16, 2024 11:20 pm Sujet du message: |
|
(I've replied to Kevin's thoughts on the new thread.) |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
AlanCutner
Tribun
Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014 Messages: 761
Localisation: Scotland
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 11:26 am Sujet du message: |
|
I don't understand the 'clarification' on uncontrolled charge at all. There is no allowance in the written rules for multiple targets. The rules are clear that the target is the nearest enemy in front, ie LI. But the uncontrolled charge is cancelled due gto interpenetrating friends to charge LI. So the LI don't even get to evade. Enemy behind the LI never become the target. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mark G Fry
Légat

Inscrit le: 15 Juin 2017 Messages: 596
Localisation: Bristol, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 2:00 pm Sujet du message: |
|
AlanCutner a écrit: | I don't understand the 'clarification' on uncontrolled charge at all. There is no allowance in the written rules for multiple targets. The rules are clear that the target is the nearest enemy in front, ie LI. But the uncontrolled charge is cancelled due gto interpenetrating friends to charge LI. So the LI don't even get to evade. Enemy behind the LI never become the target. |
Looks like we might have a translation error Alan (which would make sense to me):
See post from Mike with attached URL to latest clarification: 'There seems to be alternative argument current in France, see “Patrick LEFEBVRE / Directory of concrete cases / V1 finale, Repetoire of Concrete Cases of Application of the Ruleâ€. It is posted on the French forum by Herve and endorsed by Hubert http://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10389'
The thlot plickens  _________________ 'He could have lived a risk-free, moneyed life, but he preferred to whittle away his fortune on warfare.' Xenophon, The Anabasis |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 325
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 2:08 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Secondary targets are considered in the rules. If there are no friendly units in front of the impetuous troops, they will charge their maximum distance, drive off evaders, and hit anyone else they can reach.
Then there is a specific exception if the secondary targets that might be contacted are part of a different exception.
When there is an exception for "only" LI targets when interpenetrating or bursting through friendlies, it is easily understood to refer to secondary targets even if it could be more explicit. Of course, "only" missing in the translation is a problem.
But even then the discussion here has already suggested this interpretation as being in the spirit of the rules. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 673
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 2:36 pm Sujet du message: |
|
They don’t say “onlyâ€. They say “the target†and “the target†is clearly defined (assuming none ZOC the charger) as the “nearest enemy unit among those who are directly in front of the unit.†(P45) |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Mike Bennett
Légat
Inscrit le: 11 Nov 2017 Messages: 594
Localisation: Carnforth, Lancashire, UK
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 2:36 pm Sujet du message: |
|
AlanCutner a écrit: | I don't understand the 'clarification' on uncontrolled charge at all. There is no allowance in the written rules for multiple targets. The rules are clear that the target is the nearest enemy in front, ie LI. But the uncontrolled charge is cancelled due gto interpenetrating friends to charge LI. So the LI don't even get to evade. Enemy behind the LI never become the target. |
I think they are saying that as the light infantry must always evade, if in the open, it is clear that the troops behind can be targeted Obviously very different where the target has the option to stand. It is like the case where the charger may choose a target behind light infantry, and so not need to roll a distance modifier and risk missing them when the light foot evade. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 673
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 2:45 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Mike Bennett a écrit: | AlanCutner a écrit: | I don't understand the 'clarification' on uncontrolled charge at all. There is no allowance in the written rules for multiple targets. The rules are clear that the target is the nearest enemy in front, ie LI. But the uncontrolled charge is cancelled due gto interpenetrating friends to charge LI. So the LI don't even get to evade. Enemy behind the LI never become the target. |
I think they are saying that as the light infantry must always evade, if in the open, it is clear that the troops behind can be targeted Obviously very different where the target has the option to stand. It is like the case where the charger may choose a target behind light infantry, and so not need to roll a distance modifier and risk missing them when the light foot evade. |
That is when you declare a charge. For uncontrolled charges you have a target as defined on P45. This is the LI. In uncontrolled charges you don’t have the option to choose your target as you do when the target of a controlled charge is selected. You have to go through the steps on the bottom left of page 45 to find out who the target is. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1244
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 3:30 pm Sujet du message: |
|
As I tried to say earlier, the initial target is the LI, with certain proviso’s that are now being discussed. The French have effectively short-circuited the charge process by assuming the enemy LI will be forced to evade, (without discussing or considering that the LI may be deemed the initial target for reasons specific to the game).
Both end up with the same result, but the French way will potentially be faster, a significant benefit in time constrained tournament games. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 325
|
Posté le: Jeu Oct 17, 2024 3:31 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I'm not going to defend the exact wording of the rules. In many places it could be improved. But this is a very reasonable interpretation of the intent. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|