pichuleante
Frondeur
Inscrit le: 25 Fév 2016 Messages: 8
|
Posté le: Sam Mai 03, 2025 11:52 am Sujet du message: Temporary overlapping enemies |
|
In the situation of the image, can the knight charge the tupi on the left even if the pivot needed superpose temporary on the other tupi? This question is asked to avoid arguing during games. Sorry if some consider it obvious. |
|
lionelrus
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009 Messages: 4817
Localisation: paris
|
Posté le: Sam Mai 03, 2025 3:37 pm Sujet du message: |
|
He can _________________ "Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain. |
|
Ackostokie
Javelinier
Inscrit le: 22 Jan 2015 Messages: 16
|
Posté le: Dim Mai 04, 2025 9:42 am Sujet du message: |
|
I'm interested why the answer is yes
The rules state you can overlap a friendly unit, providing you do not need to finish the move on the unit pg31. So as long as the knights in the diagram do not touch the enemy unit when wheeling, they can charge
However, the doubt is, can they pass through a friendly unit that is in combat when wheeling.
Page 39 the interpenetration is not possible if the unit that needs to be passed through is in close combat or giving support.
So does temporary overlapping a friendly unit when wheeling class as interpenetration?
Thanks |
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 313
|
|
KevinD
Légat
Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021 Messages: 664
Localisation: Texas
|
Posté le: Dim Mai 04, 2025 6:04 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I think the rule ought to be that only the front edge of the moving unit matters during the move, provided the entire unit will fit after the move and that no part of the moving unit was ZOCed prior to moving by a different enemy (remembering that only the MTE actually exerts a ZOC).
This thing about rear outside corners becoming entangled by other units, ZOCs or terrain during a wheel, when the front edge is not, is silly. Real units wheeling 45 degrees wheeled with rear ranks wheeling in turn as they passed the point the front ranks started their wheel (or some approximation thereto for less drilled troops), not by having rear ranks racing off at an oblique angle 90 degrees away from the direction of the front rank’s travel. |
|
Andy Fyfe
Auxiliaire
Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024 Messages: 88
|
Posté le: Mer Mai 07, 2025 12:03 pm Sujet du message: |
|
pichuleante a écrit: |
In the situation of the image, can the knight charge the tupi on the left even if the pivot needed superpose temporary on the other tupi? This question is asked to avoid arguing during games. Sorry if some consider it obvious. |
You can temporarily overlap friendly units in order to wheel as long as the units do not end their movement overlapped. This is not interpenetration so none of those rules apply.
You cannot overlap enemy units to carry out a wheel.
In practice this means that any wheel in your example would not be possible.
Andy |
|