Auteur |
Message |
Orlando Almeida
Centurion
Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016 Messages: 483
|
Posté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 7:27 am Sujet du message: Incomplete conformation or invalid flank contact? |
|
Hello,
On this situation, cavalry A is clearly not on the flank o Bowmen B.
But Since Bowmen B isn't giving any kind of support, his frontal isn't commited neither in support neither in mélée.
The question is: can cavalry A, make a 90º turn and charge B?
The option I see are:
A) YES he can since he's reaching the frontal corner of Bowmen B (the front of the unit isn't either involved in melée or melée support), then since the cavalry won't be able to conform (Bowmen will conform on its turn), we'll have a frontal combat with incomplete conformation
B) NO the cavalry A is contacting the flank of Bowmen B and it didn't started in a position where it was already threatening the opponent's flank.
Which one is correct?
Thanks for the answers! |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 8:47 am Sujet du message: |
|
Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
lionelrus
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009 Messages: 4845
Localisation: paris
|
Posté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 3:54 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Ramses II a écrit: | Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). |
correct _________________ "Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Sam Aoû 02, 2025 4:53 pm Sujet du message: |
|
lionelrus a écrit: | Ramses II a écrit: | Cavalry A must make contact with enemy B before considering the conformation. Since A does not start behind the flank of B, it may not charge B. (See p41, flank contact). |
correct |
agreed |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Orlando Almeida
Centurion
Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016 Messages: 483
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 7:44 am Sujet du message: |
|
Thank you all for your feedback.
So please confirm, then this awkward situation may really occur
It’s the red player phase, player wants to stall for one 1 round, avoiding a charge on the bowmen.
Does it get a free Jail card, turning 90º hence disabling the possibility for the yellow A cavalry to charge the bowmen on the next yellow phase?
Am I missing something?
Thank you |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Hazelbark
Magister Militum
Inscrit le: 12 Nov 2014 Messages: 1697
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 12:20 pm Sujet du message: |
|
You are correct, the bow cannot be charged in the flank. |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
madaxeman
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014 Messages: 1650
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 1:24 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Orlando Almeida a écrit: | Thank you all for your feedback.
So please confirm, then this awkward situation may really occur
It’s the red player phase, player wants to stall for one 1 round, avoiding a charge on the bowmen.
Does it get a free Jail card, turning 90º hence disabling the possibility for the yellow A cavalry to charge the bowmen on the next yellow phase?
Am I missing something?
Thank you |
The only thing you are missing would be the resulting Paddington Bear Hard Stares of Disapproval from an opponent, and I would hope everyone else in the tournament, that would be directed toward anyone attempting such a move deliberately*
(*if it happens by accident, fair enough) _________________ www.madaxeman.com |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Neep
Signifer
Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023 Messages: 352
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 4:12 pm Sujet du message: |
|
How did A get there anyway?
Move A into support - win the melee - pursue into the bow front and flank gaining a cohesion hit... |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Ramses II
Magister Militum

Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015 Messages: 1269
Localisation: London
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 5:02 pm Sujet du message: |
|
I tend to agree with Neep here.  In Red’s turn, the bow could slide along the flank of the enemy cavalry (see p41) and conform into melee support. This means that - A still cannot charge the flank of the bowmen Â
- Red is more likely to win the melee given three rounds of supported melee (Red, enemy moving into position, Red again)
|
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
Orlando Almeida
Centurion
Inscrit le: 10 Sep 2016 Messages: 483
|
Posté le: Dim Aoû 03, 2025 7:29 pm Sujet du message: |
|
Once again, thanks for the feedback.
You don't need to dig in the situation hitself. I placed in purpose a "bend the rules" example to be sure I was getting this right 100% on my mind.
My goal was getting the logic right as an umpair
Really glad on having your support for the community |
|
Revenir en haut de page |
|
|
|