Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Commander in ambush
Page 2 sur 4 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 711
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mer Oct 01, 2025 11:51 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
Along with Tim and Lionelrus, I strongly suggest that a commander must be placed on table if he commands visible units.


That’s fine but I think whatever the rule on this is, it should be explicitly stated in an Errata.

Rules that aren’t stated but flow from a not entirely obvious extrapolation/interpretation of other written rules while also explicitly conflict with written rules (“It is possible to place a commander in an ambush….â€) really should be remedied in the errata.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 02, 2025 8:47 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
@Ramses II - the lady doth protest too much, methinks.

I have a Tamil corps composed of 3 elephants (with included commander), 3 LI and 2 MI impact. I should be able to ambush the elephants (with included commander) in a wood (classic turn 1 bounce out) while the other units are deployed visibly at the start of the game.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4869
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 02, 2025 12:11 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Ramses II a écrit:
Along with Tim and Lionelrus, I strongly suggest that a commander must be placed on table if he commands visible units.


That’s fine but I think whatever the rule on this is, it should be explicitly stated in an Errata.

Rules that aren’t stated but flow from a not entirely obvious extrapolation/interpretation of other written rules while also explicitly conflict with written rules (“It is possible to place a commander in an ambush….â€) really should be remedied in the errata.


Selon vous, la règle de 80 pages doit être accompagnée de 100 pages d'erratas. Il semble que chacun ne concerne qu'une poignée de personnes, alors non.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
lionelrus
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 21 Mar 2009
Messages: 4869
Localisation: paris
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 02, 2025 12:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses II - the lady doth protest too much, methinks.

I have a Tamil corps composed of 3 elephants (with included commander), 3 LI and 2 MI impact. I should be able to ambush the elephants (with included commander) in a wood (classic turn 1 bounce out) while the other units are deployed visibly at the start of the game.


Simple: faire un croquis précis au déploiement sur le plan.
_________________
"Quand on a pas de technique, faut y aller à la zob"
Perceval à Yvain et Gauvain.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 02, 2025 6:21 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
lionelrus a écrit:
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses II - the lady doth protest too much, methinks.

I have a Tamil corps composed of 3 elephants (with included commander), 3 LI and 2 MI impact. I should be able to ambush the elephants (with included commander) in a wood (classic turn 1 bounce out) while the other units are deployed visibly at the start of the game.


Simple: faire un croquis précis au déploiement sur le plan.


Exactement!

A written ambush plan is a simple way to demonstrate (if required) compliance with the rule requiring all visible units to be within command range of a commander in ambush, at deployment.

There is no need for any errata or DT clarification here.  
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Longtooth
Signifer


Inscrit le: 14 Oct 2014
Messages: 360
Localisation: Oxford
MessagePosté le: Jeu Oct 02, 2025 10:02 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As far as I can see, the only restriction on placing commanders in ambush is on page 77, which says "it is possible to place a commander in an ambush but only if it is not the commander-in-chief". If a commander chooses to ambush with half of his command, it would be obvious for command distances to be measured from the ambush marker.

I would not make a fuss if someone chose to ambush in this way and have done so myself on several occasions. None of my opponents seemed to mind.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 370
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 12:05 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Prior discussions are here:
https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10544
https://www.artdelaguerre.fr/adlg/v3/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9123


Keeping in mind there can be 3 ambush markers in a corps deployment rectangle, how do you ensure visible units are deployed within command distance? and how do you do that during movement phase?

I'd suggest requiring the general to be placed upon their ambush marker location might be a useful and simple addition.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 6:31 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Has anyone played a game where this question has had a material bearing on the outcome, or enjoyment, of a game? It’s never come up in any game I’ve played.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 736
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 8:05 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Placing a general on the ambush marker makes a mockery of an ambush.
No, he could be on flank march fear.
This does not come up in the UK or France
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 370
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 10:41 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Well if you have a fake in the same section. I only propose it to apply if there are units on the table.

Dernière édition par Neep le Ven Oct 03, 2025 8:59 pm; édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
kevinj
Signifer


Inscrit le: 07 Fév 2017
Messages: 391
Localisation: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 1:02 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Citation:
Has anyone played a game where this question has had a material bearing on the outcome, or enjoyment, of a game? It’s never come up in any game I’ve played.


I know some have been playing longer, I've only played ADLG since 2017 but I've never encountered it.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 10:20 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
@Ramses II - the lady doth protest too much, methinks.

I have a Tamil corps composed of 3 elephants (with included commander), 3 LI and 2 MI impact. I should be able to ambush the elephants (with included commander) in a wood (classic turn 1 bounce out) while the other units are deployed visibly at the start of the game.
As it seems you planned to use the elephants in ambush, again I strongly suggest you should build your list accordingly, with an independent commander that is placed on the table with the other visible units. 

While I understand the idea of presenting a detailed plan for the ambush, this creates problems 
  • The diagram needs to be very detailed to demonstrate the exact position of units and general.
  • This must inevitably take up time, spoiling the enjoyment for both players
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 10:31 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Neep a écrit:
 I'd suggest requiring the general to be placed upon their ambush marker location might be a useful and simple addition.


The problem with this is that the rules require a unit to be placed on the ambush marker. Great if the commander is included, but it causes problems with an independent commander. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1278
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Ven Oct 03, 2025 10:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
kevinj a écrit:
Citation:
Has anyone played a game where this question has had a material bearing on the outcome, or enjoyment, of a game? It’s never come up in any game I’ve played.


I know some have been playing longer, I've only played ADLG since 2017 but I've never encountered it.
I think we all agree that this is a very niche question, that really does not need convoluted and complex rules to permit it. 
This is especially true because players can take steps to allow the commander to be placed on the table while controlling the units in ambush. 


I maintain that it should be illegal to place the commander in ambush when he controls other visible units. I also think this should be in the errata, and will recommend this to El Creator. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 521
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Sam Oct 04, 2025 5:32 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Ramses II a écrit:
kevinj a écrit:
Citation:
Has anyone played a game where this question has had a material bearing on the outcome, or enjoyment, of a game? It’s never come up in any game I’ve played.


I know some have been playing longer, I've only played ADLG since 2017 but I've never encountered it.
I think we all agree that this is a very niche question, that really does not need convoluted and complex rules to permit it. 
This is especially true because players can take steps to allow the commander to be placed on the table while controlling the units in ambush. 


I maintain that it should be illegal to place the commander in ambush when he controls other visible units. I also think this should be in the errata, and will recommend this to El Creator. 


I dissent from your recommendation. Totally uneccesary!
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 4 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3, 4  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum