Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Wheels of change?
Page 2 sur 3 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
vexillia
Centurion


Inscrit le: 21 Nov 2017
Messages: 427
Localisation: Nantwich, UK
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 9:01 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Another question:
  • A line on 2Kn with 1 Cv on the right making a 3 wide group.
  • The group wheels to the left.
  • To ensure the right most Kn moves exactly 3 UD the Cv must move 4.5 UD which it cannot.
  • End result: the rightmost Kn moves less than full to align as the Cv moves 4 UD.

So using the "Madaxeman interpretation" again:
  • All the Kn "counts as" moving 4.0 UD.
  • The Kn "counts as" moving their full move (4.0 > 3.0 UD).
  • It doesn't matter that, on the table, none of the Kn actually moved 3 UD.
  • As a consequence the Kn do not suffer any penalties for moving short.

Have I got this one right?
_________________
Martin Stephenson

Subscribe via email or rss.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 12:14 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
What is this "count as " not really exceeded full move business.

Exceeding your maximum speed through a speed camera , sorry I should be saying "road safety camera", one still counts as speeding.

If the spear are to count as moving 3ud then they are exceeding their movement.

We know this is rubbish as they move 2ud , so what is to be gained with this rule that the first two rules don't give?
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
daveallen
Tribun


Inscrit le: 28 Jan 2016
Messages: 758
Localisation: Rugby & CLWC
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 3:14 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Has this rule been put in to prevent dodgy double wheels?

By that I mean the line pivots on one corner with the outer corner moving full distance, then becoming the pivot for the original pivot to move the same distance. All done for a single movement pip.

Dave

PS Whatever the reason, I bet it wasn't to allow a column of, say, four War Wagons to wheel 45 degrees.
_________________
Putting the ink into incompetence


Dernière édition par daveallen le Mar Juin 22, 2021 3:34 pm; édité 2 fois
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 761
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 3:23 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
As I understand it.....

A group of Kn's with impetuous Cv on the end wheels. The knights cannot physically move more than 3UD. If that means the Cv moves less than 4UD the move costs 2CP.

A group of impetuous Kn's with non-impetuous Cv on the end wheels. If the Cv moves at least 3UD all the Kn's count as moving at least 3UD, so the move costs 1CP.

I'm happy this is what the rules mean, subject to correction from someone more knowledgable. I'm not really interested in why wording has changed from V3. Only V4 wording matters.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
daveallen
Tribun


Inscrit le: 28 Jan 2016
Messages: 758
Localisation: Rugby & CLWC
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 3:42 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
I can't recall there being a requirement for impetuous troops to pay 2 CPs for a wheel in V3, but there was a prohibition on the dodgy double wheel in the FAQs.
_________________
Putting the ink into incompetence
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
AlanCutner
Tribun


Inscrit le: 03 Nov 2014
Messages: 761
Localisation: Scotland
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 3:46 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
If impetuous units move less than full speed its a difficult manouver at a cost of 2CP. So wheeling where an impetuous unit 'counts' as moving less than its maximum speed is at 2CP cost. A wheel where impetuous units count as moving at least maximum speed costs 1CP.

Thats the same as V3.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
daveallen
Tribun


Inscrit le: 28 Jan 2016
Messages: 758
Localisation: Rugby & CLWC
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 4:06 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Yes, but that was always the case.

Anyway, you're missing the obvious so I'll say it again:

Look at the effect of this on columns, not lines.

A single element wide wheel through 90 degrees is 1.5UD. For the rear unit in a column of six MI that's a movement of over 8UD that "counts as" 1.5UD.

Obviously wrong, but as you close one loophole (dodgy double wheel) another (teleporting columns) opens ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

FWIW, I would argue that bp2 should take precedence in limiting the actual distance moved, but that's just me.

Dave
_________________
Putting the ink into incompetence
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 6:24 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
AlanCutner a écrit:
If impetuous units move less than full speed its a difficult manouver at a cost of 2CP. So wheeling where an impetuous unit 'counts' as moving less than its maximum speed is at 2CP cost. A wheel where impetuous units count as moving at least maximum speed costs 1CP.

Thats the same as V3.


Hi Alan

What you are describing was covered by v3 p32 difficult manoeuvres bp3 and now v4 p34 difficult manoeuvre bp4.

Counts as is an additional puzzle requiring explanation of its relevance. No getting at anyone just puzzled.

Richard
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 6:37 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
daveallen a écrit:
Yes, but that was always the case.

Anyway, you're missing the obvious so I'll say it again:

Look at the effect of this on columns, not lines.

A single element wide wheel through 90 degrees is 1.5UD. For the rear unit in a column of six MI that's a movement of over 8UD that "counts as" 1.5UD.

Obviously wrong, but as you close one loophole (dodgy double wheel) another (teleporting columns) opens ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

FWIW, I would argue that bp2 should take precedence in limiting the actual distance moved, but that's just me.

Dave


Dodgy double wheels were covered by v3 p28 1st diagram and v3 p29 wheel bp1 (now separated as v4 p31 wheel bp2)

So bp4 might be a clumsy replacement for the diagram but ....

Richard
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1628
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mar Juin 22, 2021 10:04 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
So... taking Richards Pony Express as a template, the challenge is to rephrase this set of bullets whilst making the smallest possible number of changes to the existing words, paragraph structure and sentence lengths in the current bullet points.

And to do so in a way that 

- allows Impetuous units to wheel for 1 pip
- prevents columns doing handbrake turns
- doesn’t cause issues with multi-rank groups wheeling 
- still outlaws that cheesy 2-wheel thing from v3 

GO! 
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
Dickstick
Tribun


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2016
Messages: 726
Localisation: West Bromwich
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 23, 2021 7:18 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Nice.
Chance to go back to positive thinking for me.

So initial thought for sentence header to bp4

"For each wheel in a multi wheel move," the whole group counts......

Off to ponder further.
Richard
_________________
Player 747 don't call me Jumbo
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
daveallen
Tribun


Inscrit le: 28 Jan 2016
Messages: 758
Localisation: Rugby & CLWC
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 23, 2021 7:26 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
So... taking Richards Pony Express as a template, the challenge is to rephrase this set of bullets whilst making the smallest possible number of changes to the existing words, paragraph structure and sentence lengths in the current bullet points.

And to do so in a way that 

- allows Impetuous units to wheel for 1 pip
- prevents columns doing handbrake turns
- doesn’t cause issues with multi-rank groups wheeling 
- still outlaws that cheesy 2-wheel thing from v3 

GO! 

Ooh, sneaky! Laughing

I'll bite:

Change bp2:

Citation:
Individual units in a wheeling group cannot exceed their maximum move distance, although the group as whole may move up to the move distance of its fastest unit.

Change bp4:

Citation:
For each wheel, the group as a whole counts as having moved the distance travelled by the unit that moved furthest.

Does that work?

Dave
_________________
Putting the ink into incompetence
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1628
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 23, 2021 2:54 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
daveallen a écrit:

Change bp2:

Citation:
Individual units in a wheeling group cannot exceed their maximum move distance, although the group as whole may move up to the move distance of its fastest unit.




I'm not sure I see what these extra words add ? Can you explain ?
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
madaxeman
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 01 Nov 2014
Messages: 1628
Localisation: Londres Centraal.
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 23, 2021 2:58 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
daveallen a écrit:

Citation:
For each wheel, the group as a whole counts as having moved the distance travelled by the unit that moved furthest.



In line with the principle of minimising the number of changed words, could this be:

"The whole groups counts as advancing the distance travelled by the unit that moves furthest. (i.e.....) "
_________________
www.madaxeman.com
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé Visiter le site web de l'utilisateur
daveallen
Tribun


Inscrit le: 28 Jan 2016
Messages: 758
Localisation: Rugby & CLWC
MessagePosté le: Mer Juin 23, 2021 4:43 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
madaxeman a écrit:
daveallen a écrit:

Change bp2:

Citation:
Individual units in a wheeling group cannot exceed their maximum move distance, although the group as whole may move up to the move distance of its fastest unit.




I'm not sure I see what these extra words add ? Can you explain ?


Neither am I, sure that is.

I was trying to make it explicit that a group of units with different speeds can make a wheel that isn't restricted to the speed of the slowest - by bp4.

Is that already implicit in the rule? I don't know - maybe I'm just trying to second guess someone reading it for the first time.

Dave
_________________
Putting the ink into incompetence
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 2 sur 3 Aller à la page Précédente  1, 2, 3  Suivante
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum