Art De La Guerre
Bienvenue sur le forum de discussion de la règle de jeu l'Art De La Guerre
 
FAQFAQ RechercherRechercher Liste des MembresListe des Membres Groupes d'utilisateursGroupes d'utilisateurs S'enregistrerS'enregistrer
ProfilProfil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés ConnexionConnexion
Charge target
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Auteur Message
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 136
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 4:43 pm    Sujet du message: Charge target Répondre en citant
Hi Guys,

When charging the procedure on p43 states:

The player indicates the initial target and checks that it is within charge range

Is the 'target' a single unit or single group or can it be several dispirit units and groups?

For example, say I have a unit of four cavalry in a line facing two groups of light horse each made up of two units. The LH units are separated by 1 UD and one is closer to my cavalry than the other.

For the charge do I:

1. Indicate one unit of the LH as the target?
2. Indicate both units of LH as the target?

This matters due to the adjusted charge distance which only kicks in if 'all initial targets evade'.

Andy
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Neep
Signifer


Inscrit le: 09 Jan 2023
Messages: 376
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 5:12 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
It is all the targets which will be contacted first. If the line makes simultaneous contact, then there are multiple initial targets.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1288
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 7:22 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Agreed. 

. . . . BB
AA


. XXXX

Using the example presented by Andy, XXXX are 4x cavalry facing up the page, AA and BB are two pairs of LC facing down. All the formations are parallel. 

XXXX declares AA as the initial target, because this group will be contacted first. This group reacts (and evades), so the chargers dice to adjust their charge movement. In doing so, check whether the chargers may encounter BB, in which case it may evade in turn. 

If the groups are at an angle, the first unit to be contacted is the initial target, though other units may be grouped together and may evade accordingly. 
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 526
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Lun Nov 24, 2025 9:18 pm    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
In Ramses example all the XXXXs are charging as one group.

A permutation would be if two XXs each charge AA and BB. This would be two charges, two groups, two initial targets.

Back to Ramses' single XXXX group charge (per his pic). Let's say the XXXXs are impetuous cavalry and that AA choses NOT to evade. For completeness, just checking regarding p.43 Continuing a charge:
- while AA may be the initial target of group XXXX's charge, it looks like two of the XXs will NOT contact an A,
- so two of the (impetuous) XXs will be obliged to continue their charge towards BB,
- in a sense BB is their initial target, but the text appears to indicate "continuing a charge declared by the group against initial target A",
- BB is a secondary target per p.44,
- if BB chooses to evade, the two XX units (continuing their group's charge on AA) will NOT VMD, despite the p.44 text wording "...maximum adjusted movement allowance.".
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
KevinD
Tribun


Inscrit le: 23 Aoû 2021
Messages: 712
Localisation: Texas
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 2:35 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Two of XXXX will stop to melee AA and another X will stop to provide simple support. The fourth X may/will continue on to contact BB.

VMD is only used if ALL initial targets (both of AA in this case) evade.
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Zoltan
Légat


Inscrit le: 18 Jan 2015
Messages: 526
Localisation: Wellington, New Zealand
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 3:00 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
KevinD a écrit:
Two of XXXX will stop to melee AA and another X will stop to provide simple support. The fourth X may/will continue on to contact BB.

VMD is only used if ALL initial targets (both of AA in this case) evade.


Judging from Ramses pic only one X will hit with a second X in simple support. But the key point is that the other (two) Xs will continue their charge without VMD and WILL hit BB. By definition (p.43) units can only continue a charge if they can contact a new enemy (ignoring pursuing evaders - not relevant in my variant of Ramses scenario).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Andy Fyfe
Légionaire


Inscrit le: 14 Fév 2024
Messages: 136
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 9:37 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Zoltan a écrit:
KevinD a écrit:
Two of XXXX will stop to melee AA and another X will stop to provide simple support. The fourth X may/will continue on to contact BB.

VMD is only used if ALL initial targets (both of AA in this case) evade.


Judging from Ramses pic only one X will hit with a second X in simple support. But the key point is that the other (two) Xs will continue their charge without VMD and WILL hit BB. By definition (p.43) units can only continue a charge if they can contact a new enemy (ignoring pursuing evaders - not relevant in my variant of Ramses scenario).


OK; so just to check - declaring a charge is against a single unit / single group then?
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
Ramses II
Magister Militum


Inscrit le: 17 Juil 2015
Messages: 1288
Localisation: London
MessagePosté le: Mar Nov 25, 2025 10:38 am    Sujet du message: Répondre en citant
Andy; 
Yes, declaring a charge is against a single unit / group. The charge process then handles the situation as events unfold. 

Zoltan, Kevin;
If AA stand against the charge of impetuous XXXX, then one (or two) units not in support must continue moving, but only if they will contact another enemy (BB here).  
Ideally this will be determined before XXXX start moving to ensure all the units move the correct  distances.

As Zoltan says
Citation:
 Continuing a charge is optional for non-Impetuous units. It is mandatory for all Impetuous units but only if they can contact a new enemy or if they are pursuing evading units unless this would result in any of the "Exceptions to uncontrolled charges" (see p 46).
Revenir en haut de page
Voir le profil de l'utilisateur Envoyer un message privé
  
 Art De La Guerre Index du Forum > Rules question V4
Page 1 sur 1
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet Toutes les heures sont au format GMT

 
Sauter vers:  
Vous ne pouvez pas poster de nouveaux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas éditer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas supprimer vos messages dans ce forum
Vous ne pouvez pas voter dans les sondages de ce forum